Men’s Tennis Garners Four All-Conference Honors

Posted on May 8th, 2019 by

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference announced its men’s tennis postseason awards Wednesday and four Gusties were recognized as All-Conference members. Chase Johnson (Sr., Golden Valley, Minn.), Michael O’Neil (Jr., Edina, Minn.), and Patrick Whaling (Sr., Manakin Sabot, Va.) were named to the All-MIAC Singles Team, while Nick Aney (Fy., Rochester, Minn.), Johnson, and Whaling earned All-MIAC Doubles Team honors.

Johnson earns All-Conference for the second time in his career after posting a perfect 6-0 MIAC record in singles (20-5 overall) and 6-0 mark in doubles play (28-5 overall). Throughout his four-year career, Johnson never lost a MIAC match, going a combined 40-0 in singles and doubles. Johnson earned three MIAC Athletes of the Week this season, primarily playing No. 2 singles and No. 1 doubles.

O’Neil earns his first All-Conference nod after posting a 6-0 MIAC singles record (14-9 overall) and 6-1 mark in conference doubles (17-10 overall). O’Neil spent the majority of the season at No. 4 singles and No. 3 doubles.

Whaling garners All-Conference honors for the third consecutive season, playing this season at No. 1 singles and doubles. He posted a 4-1 MIAC record in singles (15-9 overall) and 6-0 mark in doubles (28-5 overall). Whaling also earned MIAC Athlete of the Week once this year.

Aney earns All-MIAC honors in his first year after going 5-0 in conference singles (17-7 overall) and 6-0 in doubles (21-5 overall). The Rochester native earned one MIAC Athlete of the Week honor after helping guide the Gusties to the consolation title at the ITA Indoor Championship.

Yassine Derbani (Jr., Casablanca, Morocco), Indraneel Raut (Fy., Oshkosh, Wis.), and Xavier Sanga (So., Madison, Wis.) were named All-Conference honorable mention. Alex Senjem (Sr., Rochester, Minn.) represented Gustavus on the All-Sportsmanship Team.

MIAC Release


One Comment

  1. Barbara Wilkinson says:

    Congratulations, team. You make us proud.