Men’s And Women’s Track & Field Battles Through Frigid Conditions At Lee Krough Invite

Posted on April 16th, 2011 by

Gustavus women sprinters race to the finish line.

The Gustavus men’s and women’s track and field teams forged through temperatures in the mid-30’s and a surface lightly dusted with snow at the 11th Annual Lee Krough Invitational Track Meet on Saturday in St. Peter, Minn.  No team scores were kept at the meet, as competing teams included Bethany Lutheran, Carleton, UM-Morris, and MSU-Mankato.


The day began with the field events, and Sam Broderius led the way with two wins in the discus and shot put.  She recorded a winning toss of 132-04 in the discus and a 41-00.25 in the shot.  Allyson Hannemann registered the winning throw of 144-08 in the hammer throw.

Janey Helland, Sarah Baker, and Lauren Rothschiller all provided wins in the jumps.  Helland won the long jump (17-06), Baker took the high jump (5-02.25), and Rothschiller won the triple jump (32-07).  Baker’s high jump was her top mark of the season.  Ally Voss rounded out the top Gustavus field performers with a victory in the pole vault, clearing a season-best 11-07.75.

In the sprints, Janie Briant won the 100-meter with a time of 13.42, Abby Karl won the 200-meter with a season-best time of 26.97, and Amanda Iverson took the 400-meter in 1:00.99.  Laura Sjoberg went 16.66 to win the 100-meter hurdles, and Laura Secor won the 400-meter hurdles with a time of 1:10.47.

Megan Lundgren, Brooke Beskau, and Beth Hauer rounded out the meet with victories in the distance races.  Lundgren took first in the 800-meter in 2:21.52, Beskau won the 1500-meter in 5:22.70, and Hauer took the 5000-meter in 18:53.15.


Anders Bowman (pictured above) took first in the steeplechase.

Individual champions in the field events on the men’s side included Ryan Obele, Mark Stice, Blair Riegel, and David Young.  Obele recorded a season-best throw of 139-01 to win the discus, and Stice won the hammer throw with a toss of 157-01.

Riegel won the long jump after leaping 21-02.75, while David Young won the javelin with throw of 144-08.

Matt Dvorak and Matt Leeb notched wins in the sprints.  Dvorak went 11.55 to take the 100-meter, while Leep crossed first in both the 200 and 400-meter dash with times of 22.50 and 51.66, respectively.  Matt Flotterud finished in 16.25 to win the 110-meter hurdles, and Steve Groskreutz went 55.81 to win the 400-meter hurdles.

Anders Bowman and Mark Bartley were the top-finishing Gustavus distance runners in the meet.  Bowman took first place in the steeplechase with a mark of 10:05.2h, and Bartly won the 5000-meter in 16:01.83.

The Gustavus track and field team will be back on the track at the Hamline Capitol City Championships held in St. Paul on Thursday, April 21.

Complete Meet Results

Photo Gallery I

Photo Gallery II


Comments are closed.