Nine Football Players Named To NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Posted on May 4th, 2012 by

Eight Gustavus Adolphus football players have been named to the 2012 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame Hampshire Honor Society.  The Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who have maintained a 3.2 GPA or better.  Nick Alverson, Logan Becker, Elliot Herdina, Mike Jirik, Brad Kruckeberg, Dan Opitz, Trenton Pray, Darin Wagner, and Cody Williams represent Gustavus on this year’s list.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society have three requirements.  The first is the athlete needs to be a starter or significant substitute in one’s last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university.  The second is the athlete needs to achieve a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout their entire undergraduate studies.  The final requirement is they must meet all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

A total of 727 players from 233 schools qualified for membership in the society’s sixth year, marking this year’s class as the largest since the program’s creation in 2007.

-Senior linebacker Nick Alverson (Cottage Grove, Minn.) – Geology and Environmental Studies major

-Senior quarterback Logan Becker (Easton, Minn.) – Nursing major

-Senior wide receiver Elliot Herdina (Blooming Prairie, Minn.) – Nursing major

-Senior defensive lineman Mike Jirik (Lonsdale, Minn.) – History major

-Senior defensive back Brad Kruckeberg (Ellendale, Minn.) – Biology major

-Senior defensive back Dan Opitz (Burnsville, Minn.) – Biology major

-Senior linebacker Trenton Pray (Apple Valley, Minn.) – Physics major

-Senior tight end Darin Wagner (Hayfield, Minn.) – Biology major

-Senior tight end Cody Williams (Welcome, Minn.) – Biology major

 NFF Release


Comments are closed.