Swim & Dive Wins at Saint John’s, Saint Ben’s

Posted on January 28th, 2023 by


COLLEGEVILLE, Minn. – The Gustavus men’s and women’s swimming & diving teams both won their MIAC dual meet at Saint John’s on Saturday. The Gustie men defeated the Johnnies 185-114, while the women beat the Bennies 222-78.

“The team swam great and it was a great test to see where we are at with the conference meet three weeks away,” Head Coach Jon Carlson said. “I’m really proud of how everyone stepped up and am excited to see how we progress moving forward.”

Ellen Hofstede (Sr., Saint Paul) highlighted the meet by breaking a 28-year old pool record in the 100 free with a time of 52.83. Hofstede also won the 50 free in 24.37, the 100 butterfly in 1:00.12, and was on the winning 200 medley relay team along with Mikayla Witte (So., Glencoe), Lindsay Sundby (Fy., Cannon Falls), and Lucy Peterson (Jr., Saint Paul), clocking in at 1:50.61.

Peterson won the 200 free in 2:02.27 and was also on the winning 200 free relay with Alison Gilles (So., Wausau, Wis.), Abby Yartz (Sr., Bemidji), and Marit Isaacson (So., Saint Paul) with a time of 1:39.94. Witte won the 500 free in 5:31.58. Teegan Jass (So., Mankato) won the 1000 free in 11:25.75. Isaacson took first in the 200 backstroke with a time of 2:12.50 and won the 200 IM in 2:15.19. Sundby won the 100 breaststroke in 1:10.42 and the 200 breaststroke in 2:34.26. Mariel Castillo (Jr., Clive, Iowa) took first in the 200 butterfly at 2:19.04.

On the boards, Kaija Pratt (Jr., Minnetonka) won the one-meter with a score of 239.85 and won the three-meter as well with a total of 226.70.

For the men, Kieran Ripken (Jr., Blaine) won the 50 free in 21.45. Andrew Becker (Sr., Northfield) took first in the 100 free at 48.08. Matt Strom (Jr., Rochester) won the 200 free in 1:45.91 and the 500 free in 4:55.77. Jared Dawson (Sr., Eagan) touched the 1000 free wall first in 10:16.97. Peyton Richardson (Jr., Crystal Lake, Ill.) won the 100 backstroke in 54.17 and the 200 backstroke in 1:58.33. Richardson also won the 200 IM in 2:00.24. Tyler Teichmiller (Jr., Woodruff, Wis.) took first in the 200 breaststroke at 2:16.89. Erik Small (Sr., Hudson, Wis.) won the 100 butterfly at 52.68.

The 200 free relay team of Dane Hudson (Sr., Eden Prairie), Small, Ripken, and Becker won in 1:25.82, while the 200 medley relay team of Strom, Taylor Vander Jeugdt (Sr., Gurnee, Ill.), Richardson, and Ripken won in 1:36.34.

The Gusties next compete on Feb. 3-4 at the University of Minnesota’s First Chance Meet. The divers will host the Dodd Road Invite on Feb. 4.


Leave a Reply