Anderson Named Player of Year, LeNeave Joins on All-Conference Team Posted on March 10th, 2020 by

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference announced its men’s hockey postseason awards Tuesday and forward Caleb Anderson (Jr., Sioux Falls, S.D.) was named MIAC Co-Player of the Year, while defenseman Will LeNeave (Jr., Medina) joined Anderson on the All-Conference team.

Anderson had a breakout junior season for the Gusties, posting a MIAC-best 34 points and 16 goals to earn the first Player of the Year honors for the Gusties since 2012 when Ross Ring-Jarvi received the award. The junior forward also added 18 assists which were the third most in the conference. He had 12 games with at least two points, and also nabbed his first collegiate hat trick on Jan. 31 in a win over Hamline. Anderson had two game-winning goals on the year, and tallied five power play goals.

LeNeave earns his first All-Conference nod in 2019-20 after totaling three goals and eight assists on the season. The junior defenseman played in all 26 games, and posted a pair of three point games. He scored a goal and had two assists on Dec. 6 in a win over Saint Mary’s and then again had a goal and two assists on Jan. 11 in a tie with St. Olaf. LeNeave also added a short-handed goal in a win over Hamline on Jan. 31.

As part of a Conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the MIAC also announced the 14th-annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for men’s hockey. Members of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition. Gustavus’s representative is Axel Hallin (Hovas, Sweden).

MIAC Release


Comments are closed.