Women’s Tennis Headed To UW-Whitewater For NCAA Regional This Weekend

Posted on May 7th, 2018 by


INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Committee has selected the 49 teams that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championships. Gustavus Adolphus College will compete in the UW-Whitewater regional where its first-round matchup is against St. Scholastica on Friday, May 11.

The regional teams include No. 10 Chicago, Grinnell, Coe, No. 34 UW-Whitewater, Concordia-Wisconsin, No. 28 Gustavus, and St. Scholastica.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second- and third- rounds played at regional sites, Friday-Sunday, May 11-13, or Thursday-Saturday, May 10-12. Claremont McKenna-Harvey Mudd Scripps Colleges will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 21-23 at Biszantz Tennis Center in Claremont, California. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 9.

The championships provide for a 49-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 40 conference champions, which form “Pool A.” One team will be selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining 8 teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference’s AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.


Comments are closed.