Men’s Tennis Selected To Host NCAA Regional This Weekend

Posted on May 7th, 2018 by


INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Committee has selected the 43 teams that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Championships. Gustavus Adolphus College will host a six-team regional Thursday, May 10-Saturday, May 12 at the Swanson Tennis Center.

The regional teams include No. 6 Gustavus, Grinnell, Concordia-Wisconsin, No. 40 Coe, Northwestern-St. Paul, and No. 20 Whitman. The Gusties and Whitman have a first round bye, while Grinnell and Concordia will play each other along with a matchup between Coe and Northwestern on Friday.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first-, second- and third-rounds played at regional sites, Thursday-Saturday, May 10-12, or Friday-Sunday, May 11-13. Claremont- Mudd-Scripps will host the team championship finals, which will be held May 21-26 at The Biszantz Family Tenns Center in Claremont, California. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 9.

The championship provides for a 43-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 36 conference champions, which form “Pool A.” One team is selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining six teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference’s AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.


Comments are closed.