Men’s Swimming & Diving MIAC Championships Wrap-Up

Posted on February 23rd, 2010 by

Skylar Davis 1650 Freestyle Champion

The University of St. Thomas ended the over 30-year reign of conference powers St. Olaf and Gustavus at the 2010 MIAC Swimming and Diving Championships to take the title with a total of 709 points.  Either St. Olaf or Gustavus had won the MIAC Crown since 1979, as Gustavus has won the championship six times since the 2000-01 season.  Gustavus finished second place with 701 points, as St. Olaf rounded out the top three, taking third with 615.5 points.  Gustavus has now been runner-up at the conference meet two years in a row.

The Gustavus men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams combined to register a total of four NCAA A cuts and 25 NCAA B cuts, as the Gusties broke three MIAC records, five meet records, and 14 school records at the meet.  The Gustavus men’s squad had a total of 16 All-Conference performances from eight different swimmers.  The Gusties tallied four event wins at the meet, one by Skylar Davis, one by Whitaker Davis, and two by William Schultze.

All-Conference performers included Skylar Davis, Whitaker Davis, John Rice, Paul Kirihara, William Schultze, Matt Van Fossen, Ben Stewart, and Sam DeFranco.

William Schultze, Champion in the 100 and 200 breaststroke

Skylar Davis became only the second swimmer in Gustavus history to win the conference title in the same event four years in a row.  Skylar won the 1650 freestyle with an NCAA A cut time of 15:48.27, setting a new meet record.  Skylar took second in the 500 freestyle (4:31.09) and 400 IM (4:04.60).  Both times made the NCAA B cut, as his time in the 400 IM is a school record.

Whitaker Davis won the 500 freestyle with an NCAA B qualifying time of 4:30.73.  He was also the runner up in the 200 (1:41.41) and 1650 freestyle (15:55.22), both times made the NCAA B cut.  William Schultze registered the other two Gustavus event victories.  He won the 100 breaststroke with a time of 59.18 and the 200 breaststroke with a time of 2:08.23.  His time in the 200 breaststroke is a school record.

Qualifying members of the Gustavus men’s swimming and diving team will compete at the NCAA Championships on March 18-20, in the Aquatics Center on the campus of the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis.  Selections to the National Championships will be made on March 3rd.

Men’s Standings – Final
1. St. Thomas – 709
2. Gustavus – 701

Whitaker Davis 500 Freestyle Champion

3. St. Olaf – 615.5
4. Saint John’s – 542.5
5. Carleton – 415
6. Saint Mary’s – 224
7. Macalester – 132
8. Hamline – 129

2009-10 MIAC Swimming & Diving Awards
Men’s Diver of the Year: Ian Straehley, St. Olaf
Men’s Swimmer of the Year: Peter Mullee, St. Thomas
Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Tom Hodgson, St. Thomas
Diving Coach of the Year: Gabe Kortuem, Carleton/St. Olaf

Men’s Top Finishers

MIAC Swimming & Diving Championships Website


Comments are closed.