Records Set at UW-La Crosse Last Chance Meet Posted on May 18th, 2023 by


LA CROSSE, Wis. – A few Gustavus track & field athletes made one final push for the NCAA Outdoor Championship on Thursday at the UW-La Crosse Last Chance Meet.

The marquee event of the day for the Gustie women was the 200-meter where Birgen Nelson (Sr., Edina) won with a school record time of 23.85, which currently ranks second in Division III. Megan Geraets (So., Mankato) took fourth in 24.59 (22nd/DIII), which also broke the previous school record time of 24.73 set in 1999 by Erica Stone. Kate Carlson (So., Inver Grove Heights) finished fifth in the 200 with a personal best 24.75 (32nd/DIII).

Madi Kes (Jr., Jordan) also set a school record, clearing a distance of 39-8.5 (12.10 meters) for fourth place while improving her own previous record. Kes currently ranks 20th in Division III in the triple jump.

Nelson also won the 100-hurdles in 13.52, while Danielle Miller (Jr., Waconia) finished in 15.30. Nelson enters the NCAA Championships as the defending national champion while owning the top time of 13.32.

The 4×100 relay team of Miller, Nelson, Geraets, and Carlson clocked a time of 47.61. The relay team’s best time this season was 47.15, which ranks 24th in Division III.

Carlson finished the 100-meter prelims in 12.04 for a personal best while climbing the national leaderboard to 32nd, and then clocked a 12.05 in finals for third place.

On the men’s side in the hammer throw, Josh Beiswanger (Sr., Mankato) had a heave of 179-0 (54.57 meters) for third place. Beiswanger’s best throw this season of 57.93 meters ranks 19th in Division III.

Wyatt Quiring (Sr., Fairmont) posted a personal best time of 48.48 in the 400-meter for fourth place. Sam Schulze (So.) also had a PR and took seventh in the 400-meter hurdles at 56.52. Seth Zeitchick (Sr., St. Paul) crossed the 200-meter line in 22.57 for ninth place. And Connor McCormick (Fy., Stillwater) took 10th place in the 110-hurdles with a time of 16.25.

The 2023 DIII men’s and women’s outdoor track & field championship selections will be announced Friday.


Comments are closed.