Women’s Hockey Advances to MIAC Championship with 5-1 Win over Hamline Posted on February 26th, 2023 by


SAINT PETER, Minn. — The Gusties are headed back to the MIAC Championship game after defeating Hamline by a score of 5-1 in the semifinal matchup. The Gusties scored four goals in the second period for the victory, outshooting Hamline 52-7 through the game.

The Gusties waited nearly 17 minutes to get on the board against the Pipers, but when they did, they made it count. Lily Mortenson (Fy., Champlin) took a nifty pass from Tina Press (Sr., Cottage Grove), skating down the ice and beating the Piper defenders, moving the forehand to backhand for a highlight reel goal. Mortenson’s tally would be the only one through the first period, as the Gusties finished the first 20 minutes holding the Pipers to just two shots on goaltender Katie McCoy (Sr., Grafton, Wis.).

The floodgates opened in the second, as Press netted her 12th of the season with a perfect backhand shot over the shoulder of Piper goaltender Maddie Nickell. Kaitlyn Holland (So., Aberdeen, S.D.) scored the third goal less than two minutes later, capitalizing on a loose puck in front of the net on the power play. The Gusties’ fourth came from Brooke Power (Jr., Lakeville), as she took a faceoff win from Molly McHugh (Sr., Minnetonka) and sent it to the back of the net for a 4-0 lead. Press added the Gusties’ final goal, receiving a well-timed pass from Hailey Holland (Sr., Aberdeen, S.D.) behind the net, scoring her second of the game.

The Pipers had the last word, scoring one in the final five minutes of the second and foiling McCoy’s shutout, but it wasn’t enough to dent the Gustie lead.

Press finished with the team lead in points on the day with three, while Hailey Holland and Sophia Coltvet (Jr., Arden Hills) each added two. McCoy finished with seven saves between the pipes for the Gusties, picking up another win on the season.

The Gusties will now host Augsburg for the MIAC Playoff title game on Saturday at Don Roberts Ice Rink for a chance at the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.


Comments are closed.