Swim & Dive Wins Grinnell Pioneer Classic

Posted on December 3rd, 2022 by


GRINNELL, Iowa – The Gustavus men’s and women’s swim & dive teams both won the Grinnell Pioneer Classic on Saturday. The Gustie men claimed the Pioneer Classic championship for the fifth consecutive season with 947 points, edging host Grinnell by just 11 points in a field of eight teams, while the Gustie women won their second straight title and fourth overall with a score of 982 in a field of nine teams.

The Gustie women started Saturday with a meet record in the 200 medley relay. The team of Mikayla Witte (So., Glencoe), Lindsay Sundby (Fy., Cannon Falls), Marit Isaacson (So., St. Paul), and Lucy Peterson (Jr., St. Paul) clocked a time of 1:47.68. Isaacson then won the 400 IM in 4:47.33, the 100 backstroke in 1:00.49, and the 100 free in 54.03. The 800 free relay team of Witte, Alison Gilles (So., Wausau, Wis.), Peterson, and Isaacson won with a time of 8:13.86. The 400 free relay team of Gilles, Macey Whitlock (So., Brainerd), Isaacson, and Peterson rounded out the day with a winning time of 3:39.40.

The Gustie men also started the day with a meet record in the 200 medley relay. Peyton Richardson (Jr., Crystal Lake, Ill.), Kieran Ripken (Jr., Blaine), Dane Hudson (Sr., Eden Prairie), and Andrew Becker (Sr., Northfield) touched the wall in 1:34.42. Ripken also won the 100 breaststroke in 59.03. The 800 free relay team of Hudson, Erik Small (Sr., Hudson, Wis.), Richardson, and Matt Strom (Jr., Rochester) won in 7:11.09. Callen Zemek (Sr., Victoria) then took first in the 1650 free at 16:50.26. Andrew Jensen (Jr., Wyoming) scored 430.50 in the one-meter dive to take first place. Becker finished first in the 100 free with a time of 47.37. And the 400 free relay team of Hudson, Strom, Ripken, and Becker closed out the day with a meet record time of 3:08.25.

Gustavus is now off until Jan. 13 when it hosts Carleton in a MIAC dual meet.


Comments are closed.