Pedersen Named MIAC Men’s Golfer of the Year, Moe Coach of the Year

Posted on May 9th, 2022 by

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference announced its men’s golf postseason awards on Monday and four Gusties received recognition. Jacob Pedersen (Sr., Minnetonka) earned MIAC Player of the Year, while Scott Moe was selected as MIAC Coach of the Year. Max Ullan (Sr., Blaine) and Wyatt Wasko (Jr., Lake Elmo) joined Pedersen on the All-Conference Team. 

Pedersen led the conference with an average of 72.2 shots over 20.5 rounds in 2021-22. He shot par or better in all 10 of the events he competed in this season, which included seven top-five finishes and three medalist honors. He tallied a MIAC-record 7-under-par 65 on the final day of the 2021 MIAC Championships in October to bookend his collegiate career with conference medalist honors, having previously won in his first season in 2018. Pedersen was also selected MIAC Men’s Golf Player of the Year following his debut season in 2018-19, making him the sixth men’s golfer in the last two decades to earn multiple MIAC Player of the Year honors and the second to do it in non-consecutive seasons.

Moe, in his 25th season as the men’s head coach, was celebrated by his peers with MIAC Men’s Golf Coach of the Year honors for the eighth time in his career. Moe guided the Gusties to an at-large berth to the NCAA Tournament this spring, marking the program’s first team bid to the national meet since 2013. He previously received MIAC Coach of the Year honors for men’s golf in 1997, 1998, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2008, and 2013. He is also a four-time recipient of the MIAC Women’s Golf Coach of the Year award.

Ullan had the second best scoring average on the team at 73.4 strokes. Playing in 10 events and 20.5 rounds this season, Ullan finished in the top-10 five times. Ullan was also named to the MIAC All-Sportsmanship Team.

Wasko had the third lowest average on the team at 74.4 strokes. Wasko also played in 10 events and 20.5 rounds, finishing in the top-10 three times, including two medalist honors.

Pedersen became just the 16th man in recorded conference history to be named All-MIAC four times, while Ullan received All-Conference honors for the third time. Only 39 men’s golfers in league history have been named All-MIAC at least three times.

MIAC Release


Comments are closed.