Men’s Track & Field Takes Fourth at MIAC Championships Posted on May 15th, 2021 by


SAINT PAUL, Minn. – The Gustavus men’s track & field team took fourth place out of 11 teams Saturday at the MIAC Championships. The Gusties scored 88 points, while St. Thomas won the meet with 214.5 points.

“Today was a great day for track and field,” Head Coach Aaron Lund said. “With the presence of fans, all conference schools at one place, and great weather conditions, it was a great atmosphere with a meet that finally felt a little bit like normal. There was an infectious energy that helped athletes not only win conference, but establish themselves near the top of the national list in so many different events today. I am proud of this team for their character, passion, hard work, sportsmanship, and will to win. Whether it was fighting for a win, score a point for the team, or beat their seeding going into the meet, I am proud of the way we fought together as a team all the way until the final event.”

Gustavus claimed two MIAC champions as Taylor Rooney (Sr., Andover) won the 110-hurdles with a time of 14.02 and Xander DuMoulin (Jr., Shorewood) won the triple jump with a distance of 46-2 a day after earning All-Conference in the long jump, taking second at 22-7. Both Rooney and DuMoulin ran the 100-meter with Rooney taking eighth at 11.02 and DuMoulin ninth at 11.15. Rooney also scored in the 200-meter, taking sixth in 22.07, and the high jump on Friday, placing fifth at 6-3.25.

Wyatt Quiring (Jr., Fairmont) earned All-Conference in the 400-meter, taking second at 49.00. Seth Zeitchick (So., Saint Paul) was one spot shy of All-MIAC in the 400, placing fourth at 49.58. Andrew Stumbo (Sr., Boone, Iowa) took seventh in the 5k at 15:09.79 a day after earning All-Conference in the 10k with a third place finish.

In the field, Steven Orzolek (Jr., Darwin) earned All-Conference in the shot put with a toss of 53-4.25. Isaiah Subah (Fy., Bloomington) took eighth in the triple jump with a leap of 43-3.25.

Gustavus now waits to see who will be invited to compete at the NCAA Championships.


Comments are closed.