Men’s Tennis Claims Ninth Straight MIAC Playoff Title

Posted on May 4th, 2019 by


SAINT PETER, Minn. – The Gustavus men’s tennis team captured it’s ninth consecutive MIAC playoff title with a 5-1 win over Carleton on Saturday.

“The guys played an excellent match today. We came out flying in the doubles. Nick and Yassine were excellent with their tactics and we got a huge lift from Michael and Xavier at No. 3. Those two played beautifully and handled the moment very well. We had a great look at the sweep but Carleton played well a No. 1 to get that breaker. A key moment for us was our response coming out of doubles. The guys were focused and present and put five first sets on the board. Patrick played a top class opponent very well and did not allow Carleton any momentum there and that was another huge lift for us. Yassine played with great determination and tenacity to grab the momentum back in a hurry. Neel Raut was composed and very solid and Nick Aney played smart and with great poise to get the clinch. Chase and Michael were competing very well in singles when the match was decided. Carleton is a fantasitic team and it took a great team effort to come through. We’re grateful to continue our journey and look forward to the special excitement that comes with the NCAA tournament.”


  1. Patrick Whaling (GACM) vs. Leo Vithoontien (CAR) 6-7 (7-5), 3-2, unfinished
  2.  Chase Johnson (GACM) vs. Xander Zuczek (CAR) 6-2, 3-2, unfinished
  3. Yassine Derbani (GACM) def. Aaron Goodman (CAR) 6-0, 6-0
  4. Michael O’Neil (GACM) vs. Xander Roti (CAR) 7-5, 1-2, unfinished
  5. Nick Aney (GACM) def. Jordon O’Kelly (CAR) 6-2, 6-4
  6. Indraneel Raut (GACM) def. Sahil Chhugani (CAR) 6-1, 6-2


  1. Leo Vithoontien/Jordon O’Kelly (CAR) def. Patrick Whaling/Chase Johnson (GACM) 8-7 (7-5)
  2. Yassine Derbani/Nick Aney (GACM) def. Aaron Goodman/Xander Zuczek (CAR) 8-1
  3. Michael O’Neil/Xavier Sanga (GACM) def. Jonas Lindholm-Uzzi/Sahil Chhugani (CAR) 8-1

Leave a Reply