Men’s Swimming & Diving Collects All-Conference Awards

Posted on February 22nd, 2017 by

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Following a second place finish at the 2017 Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships over the weekend, the MIAC recognized the Men’s Swimming and Diving Awards, Wednesday. 

Headlined by the MIAC Swimmer of the Year in Tanner Sonnek (So., North Mankato, Minn.), the Gusties claimed 13 awards collectively.

Sonnek put together an outstanding performance throughout the three day MIAC Championships. Highlighted by his MIAC meet record NCAA Selection Time of 55.10 to win the 100-yard breaststroke, he also added another top time in the 200-yard individual medley with a time of 1:53.06. Repeating as the champion in the 200-yard breaststroke, he clocked a NCAA Selection Time of 2:02.12. Finally, he contributed to four Gustavus relay teams that collected all-conference nods.

Matt Allison (Fy., Grand Rapids, Minn.) earned three all-conference times. Allison finished first in the 50-yard freestyle (20.72), second in the 100-yard freestyle, as well as second in the 200-yard freestyle (1:41.30). His 100 freestyle time was good for a NCAA B-cut time.

Two Gustie divers grabbed all-conference nods. Logan Bican (Fy., Monticello, Minn.) placed third in one-meter diving with 442 points, a NCAA ‘A’ Qualifying Standard. Josh Theis (Fy., Henderson, Minn.) also placed third with a score of 394.20 in three-meter diving, a NCAA ‘B’ Qualifying Standard.

Gustavus tallied five all-conference relay awards:

The 200-yard freestyle relay team of Allison, Will Clark (Fy., Northfield, Minn.), Sonnek, and Andrew Peters (So., Montevideo, Minn.) clocked a second place time of 1:23.01.

The 400-yard freestyle relay team Sonnek, Andrew Peters, Allison, and Adam Peters (Sr., Montevideo, Minn.) came in third place at 3:07.39.

They were followed by the 800-yard freestyle relay squad of Zach Dawson (Fy., Eagan, Minn.), Allison, Andrew Peters, and Adam Peters, clocking in a time of 7:01.24.

A third place finish came from Frankie Zobitz (So., White Bear Lake, Minn.), Sonnek, Zach Holman (So., Mayer, Minn.), and Adam Peters finished at 1:33.96 in the 200-yard medley relay.

Finally, the 400-yard medley relay team of Zobitz, Sonnek, Holman, and Allison finished third with a time of 3:25.40. 

Additionally, Dave Brazel (Sr., Bloomington, Minn.) was selected as a member of the All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team.

MIAC Release


Comments are closed.