Men’s Tennis Set To Host 2012 ITA National Indoor Championship This Weekend

Posted on February 23rd, 2012 by

Gustavus Adolphus College is set to host the 12th annual Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) National Division III Indoor Championship at the Swanson Tennis Center in St. Peter, Minnesota.  Seven of the top-15 teams in the NCAA Division III will square off to determine the 2012 ITA National Indoor Champion. Emory University of Atlanta, Georgia (#2 in the most recent Div. III poll) looks to defend its 2011 National Indoor Championship this year as the No. 1 seed entering the tournament.

Joining last year’s champion will be host Gustavus Adolphus College, Washington University of St. Louis, Missouri (#3), University of California at Santa Cruz (#6), Kenyon College of Gambier, Ohio (#7), Pomona-Pitzer Colleges of Claremont, California (#8), Trinity University of San Antonio, Texas (#10), and the University of Chicago, Illinois (#11).

The Tournament will begin on Friday morning with No. 2 seed Washington University (Missouri) facing No. 7 University of Chicago (Illinois) and No. 3 UC-Santa Cruz (California) taking on No. 6 Trinity University (Texas) at 11:30 a.m.  At 5:00 p.m. in the afternoon, No. 1 Emory University (Georgia) plays No. 8 Gustavus Adolphus (Minnesota) and No. 4 Kenyon College (Ohio) battles No. 5 Pomona-Pitzer Colleges (California).

Saturday’s schedule has the losers of Friday’s matches playing in consolation matches beginning at 8:30 a.m.  The winners of the first round matches will play in the semifinals beginning at 2:00 p.m. later that day.  The fifth and seventh place matches will begin at 7:30 p.m. on Saturday night.  The third place and championship matches will both begin at 9:00 a.m. on Sunday morning.

Many of the top players in Division III will be taking part in this year’s tournament, including five of the top-10 ranked singles competitors.  Top-ranked players include Dillon Pottish (#1) and Chris Goodwin (#2) of Emory University, Adam Putterman (#3) of Washington University, Amrik Donkena (#8) of Gustavus Adolphus College, and Max Frey (#10) of Trinity University.

In the doubles field, four of the top-15 tandems in the country will be present.  Top doubles teams include Max Frey and Erick DelaFuente (#5) of Trinity, Amrik Donkena and Mya Smith-Dennis (#7) of Gustavus Adolphus, Max Franklin and Kevin Chu (#12) of Washington, and Erich Koenig and Parker Larsen (#14) of UW-Santa Cruz.

For a live results, box scores, match recaps, and a complete schedule, follow the link below to the ITA Indoor Championship Website.

Tournament Website


Comments are closed.