Men’s Swimming & Diving Falls To St. Olaf 176-112

Posted on November 12th, 2011 by

The Gustavus men’s swimming and diving team fell to St. Olaf by the score of 176-112 in its first MIAC dual of the season on Saturday afternoon in St. Peter, Minn.

The Gusties recorded 14 top three finishes at the meet, while a St. Olaf swimmer was the victor in every individual race.

The Gustavus 200-free relay team of Kurt Youngdahl, Steve Manley, Sam Olson-Anstett, and Zac Solis registered the Gusties lone win in the swimming events.  The team touched the wall in 1:28.36 to edge St. Olaf by over two seconds.  The 200-medley relay team of Zach Nachtsheim, Billy Schultze, Matt Van Fossen, and Youngdahl added a second place finish with a time of 1:37.82.

Ross Larson and Zac Solis each tallied one second and two third place finishes.  Larson placed second in the 200 free with a time of 1:50.29, and added third place marks in the 200 backstroke (2:02.96) and 500 free (5:07.60).  Solis finished runner-up in 200 backstroke in 2:00.75, while taking third in the 100 backstroke (56.55) and 50 free (22.66).

Kurt Youngdahl and Billy Schultze both swam to a pair of second place finishes. Youngdahl took runner-up in the 50 free in 22.00 and 100 free in 48:51, while Schultze swam second in the 200 breaststroke with a time of 2:16.29 and 200 IM with a time of 2:05.26.

Rounding out the top Gustavus swimmers at the meet was Matt Van Fossen, Kento Gurung, and Sam Olson-Anstett.  Van Fossen finished second in the 100 butterfly (53.67) and third in the 200 butterfly (2:08.31).  Gurung swam third in the 100 free (50.65), as did Olson-Anstett in the 100 butterfly (54.86).

Gustavus divers Sam Hanson and Michael Patterson finished one-two in both the one and three-meter diving events.  Hanson scored a 209.25 on the one-meter and a 215.15 on the three-meter.  Patterson turned in a score of 207.25 on the one-meter and 173.00 on the three-meter.

The Gustavus swimming and diving teams will cap off their three-meet home-stand next Saturday, Nov. 19, when it hosts Saint John’s, Saint Ben’s and MSU-Mankato.

Complete Results

Photo Gallery


Comments are closed.