Men’s Indoor Track & Field Finishes Third At MIAC Championships

Posted on March 6th, 2011 by

The Gustavus men’s indoor track and field team recorded a three-day total of 75.5 points to finish third at the 2011 MIAC Indoor Track and Field Championships held this weekend in St. Paul.  The Gusties retained their grasp on third place following day two, registering 35.5 points in day-three to earn a spot on the podium.  It is Gustavus’ best performance at the conference meet since finishing runner-up with 134.5 points in 2003.

St. Thomas became the 2011 MIAC Champions after compiling 166 points, while Hamline finished runner-up with 158 points.

Blair Riegel was the top Gustavus performer of the day with a pair of top-three finishes.   Riegel took second place in the 200-meter run with a time of 22.68. Christian Swanberg of Hamline edged out Riegel by just 1/100th of a second to become MIAC Champion in the 200 with a time of 22.67.  Riegel later finished third in the long jump with a mark of 22’ 1.75”.

Matt Leeb, Eric Jorgenson, and Matt Dvorak all tallied top-10 finishes on the track.  Leeb placed fifth in the 200-meter dash with a time of 22.83, while Dvorak added an eighth place finish in the same event with a time of 23.03.  Jorgenson added a sixth place finish in the 600-yard dash with a time of 1:14.73.

Naga Rumicho and Jake Peymann were the other top performers in the field events,  tying for eighth place in the high jump after clearing 6’ 0.50”.

The Gusties had a good day in the relays with two top-five finishes. Dvorak, Jay Rogotzke, Riegel, and Leeb teamed up to take second in the 4×200-meter relay with a time of 1:30.03.  Their time in the race broke the former school record of 1:30.35 set in 2009.  Carson Smith, Jorgenson, Steve Groskreutz, and Leeb wrapped up the meet with a fourth place finish in the 4×400-meter relay with a time of 3:27.46.

The 2011 MIAC Indoor Track and Field Championships were held in the Anderson Field House on the campus of the University of St. Thomas.

Complete Results

MIAC Championships Website


Comments are closed.