Men’s Golf Finishes Fifth At 2010 MIAC Championship

Posted on October 4th, 2010 by

The Gustavus men’s golf team shot a 304 in the final day of competition at the 2010 MIAC Championships to finish in fifth place overall with a three-day total of 922 (+58).  The Gusties shot a 306 on day one and a 312 on day two.  Saint John’s won the championship with a three-day team score of 892 (294-292-306).  With the victory, Saint John’s earns a bid into the NCAA Championships this Spring.  The 2010 MIAC Men’s Golf Championships was held at Bunker Hills Golf Course in Coon Rapids, Minn. on Oct. 2-4.

St. Olaf finished in second place with a three-day team score of 905 (+41).  St. Thomas rounded out the top three in third with a 914 (+50).

Simon Erlandsson was the top Gustavus golfer in the tournament, finishing 13th overall at +13 over par with a three day total of 229 (79-74-76).  Alex Kolquist finished right behind Erlandsson in 14th place  after firing a 76-80-74 for a total of 230 (+14). Tyler McMorrow and Andrew Oakes both finished in 20th with a score of 234 (+18).  McMorrow shot a 76-82-76, while Oakes hit a 75-79-80.  Alex Pederson rounded out the Gustavus squad in 32nd with a 240 (83-79-78).

Simon Erlandsson finished 13th overall after turning in a three-day score of 229.

It was Andrew Witchurch of Concordia who took the tournament crown, shooting a 69 in day three to move up from second place following day two.  Whitchurch was the only player to finish under par in the tournament at -1, registering a three day total of 215.  St. Olaf’s Chris Conklin finished runner-up after shooting a 220 (75-72-73), while Carleton’s David Flynn and Krogen tied for third place at 221.

2010 MIAC Men’s All-Conference (54 Holes — Top Ten)

1. Andrew Whitchurch, Concordia-Moorhead-215
2. Chris Conklin, St. Olaf-220
3. David Flynn, Carleton-221
3. Tony Krogen, Saint John’s-221
5. Nick Santrach, Macalester-222
6. Dennis Granath, Saint John’s-224
7. Ryan Lubinsky, St. Olaf-225
8. Sean Barrett, St. Thomas-226
9. Alex Klehr, Saint John’s-227
9. Joel Kociemba, Augsburg-227
9. Casey Vangsness, Saint John’s-227

Complete Results


Comments are closed.