Gustavus Set to Induct Nine New Members into Athletics Hall of Fame Posted on July 24th, 2009 by

Gustavus Athletics Logo

Gustavus Athletics Logo

The Gustavus Adolphus College Athletics Department has chosen nine individuals for induction into its Athletics Hall of Fame. The 2009 inductees include Kerri Pool Foss ’94 (Soccer), Dan Dohmeier ’86 (Baseball), Bob Klindworth ’93 (Cross Country/Track and Field), Leisha Johnson Ronning ’90 (Basketball), C.J. Page ’91 (Gymnastics), Scott Anderson ’92 (Football), Jon Lindquist ’92 (Golf), Amy McCrea Morrell ’91 (Tennis), and Steve Wilkinson (Coach). This group will be honored at the Athletics Hall of Fame Banquet, which will be held in Alumni Hall at 7:30 pm on Saturday, October 17, following the Hall of Fame football game against Carleton at 1:00 p.m.

Individuals eligible for induction into the Gustavus Athletics Hall of Fame are athletes, coaches, and benefactors. Selection of athletes is based on athletic achievements while a student at Gustavus. Eight of the nine members of the Gustavus Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2009 will be inducted for their accomplishments as athletes, while one, Steve Wilkinson, will be inducted as a coach.

Kerri Pool Foss, a native of Apple Valley, Minnesota, was a three-time All-Conference performer who earned First Team All-America honors and was selected MIAC Player of the Year in 1993. A captain of the 1993 squad that won the MIAC title with a perfect 10-0 record, Foss was also a CoSIDA Academic All-American and a NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship winner; Dan Dohmeier, a native of Wabasso, Minn., was a three-time all-conference first baseman, who graduated in 1986 as the program’s all-time leading hitter with a career average of .392. He also set the all-time career marks for hits with 108 and RBI with 76. He hit over .400 in conference play in each of his four years at Gustavus. Dohmeier also received the Hollingsworth Key as the senior male athlete with the highest cumulative grade point; Bob Klindworth, a native of Lake City, Minn., was a standout in both cross country and track and field. In cross country, he earned All-Conference and All-Region honors three times, and he is the only runner in the program’s history to qualify for the NCAA Championships three times in his career. In track and field, Klindworth was a two-time MIAC champion in the 5,000 meters indoors and a two-time MIAC Champion in the 10.000 meters outdoors. He earned All-America honors by placing seventh in the 5,000 meters at the NCAA Outdoor Championships in 1993; Leisha Johnson Ronning, a native of Pine Island, Minnesota, was a two-time all-conference guard for the women’s basketball team, who graduated as the program’s third all-time leading scorer with 921 points in 1990. She set the school record for steals in a season with 67 during her senior year. Ronning was also a two-time Academic All-Conference honoree; C.J. Page, a native of Eden Prairie, Minnesota, was a gifted gymnast who was the National Collegiate Gymnastics Association (NCGA) national champion on the vault in 1988. During her career, Page earned All-America honors six times including vault and all-around (1988), vault, floor, and all-around (1989), and vault (1990). She was a key contributor on teams that won NCGA National Championships in 1987 and 1990; Scott Anderson, a native of Le Sueur, Minnesota, was a two-time All-Conference fullback, who graduated in 1992 as the program’s sixth all-time leading rusher with 2,079 yards. He still holds the school record for longest run from scrimmage, which he set with a 91-yard touchdown scamper against St. Thomas in 1991. Anderson is one of only four players in program history to be selected as the team’s MVP twice during his career (1990, 1991); Jon Lindquist, a native of Burnsville, Minnesota, won the 1992 NCAA Division III individual golf title after shooting a course record 66 on the final day and setting a new NCAA record (72-hole total) at the national tournament at 283 (five-under par). A four-time All-America selection, Lindquist was also a two-time MIAC Individual Champion and a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-American. He also became the first NCAA Division III player to receive the Ben Hogan Award given to the nation’s top scholar golfer (selected from all players in Divisions I, II, and III); Amy McCrea Morrell, a native of Edina, Minnesota, played #1 singles and #1 doubles on the 1990 squad that won the NCAA Championship. She was a three-time All-American and four-time MIAC Champion at #1 and #2 singles. Morrell, who is the only Gustavus women’s tennis player to win the ITA Regional Singles Title three times, was also a member of Gustie teams that finished second at the NCAA Championships in 1991, and fourth in 1989; and Steve Wilkinson, a native of Sioux City, Iowa, who recently retired after 39 years as the head men’s tennis coach. Wilkinson is the winningest coach in the history of collegiate tennis with 929 victories (His overall mark was 929-279). His teams compiled a MIAC record of 337-1 and claimed 36 league titles. Wilkinson’s squads won NCAA Championships in 1980 and 1982 and in addition, his players claimed six national doubles titles and two national singles titles.

The selection of the inductees to the Gustavus Hall of Fame is made by the Gustavus Hall of Fame Board which is an 11-member group consisting of current athletic administrators, and former coaches and alumni.


Comments are closed.