Men’s Golf Coach Scott Moe Named National Coach of the Year

Posted on June 24th, 2004 by

(Friday, June 25, 2004) — Gustavus Adolphus College men’s golf coach Scott Moe has been named Division III National Coach of the Year by the Golf Coaches Association of America. Moe directed the Gusties to their first ever NCAA Championship this past May in Los Angeles, California. This is the first time that he has been honored as the National Coach of the Year.

Moe finally saw his team bring home the gold medal in 2004 after coming up just short in each of the past six years. The Gusties finished eighth in 1998, seventh in 1999, sixth in 2000, fifth in 2001 and 2002 and sixth in 2003. This season, Moe’s team produced four PING All-America selections (Luke Benoit, Neil Johnson, Chase Thonvold and Brent Borgstahl), three Cleveland Golf All-America scholars (Benoit, Johnson, and Brady Hoffman) and five all-conference honorees (Benoit, Johnson, Borgstahl, Hoffman and Thonvold).

In his eighth year at the helm of the Gustavus golf program, Moe has been named Eaton Golf Pride Central Region Coach of the Year five times and MIAC Coach of the Year five times. Twenty-two of his golfers have earned All-America honors. He has directed his squad to five MIAC titles and eight consecutive NCAA Championship appearances.

A 1995 graduate of Gustavus, Moe won three MIAC individual titles and played on four conference championship teams. He earned All-America honors in 1993 and 1995 and was named a GCAA All-American Scholar in 1995.


Comments are closed.