Entries tagged with ‘Mike Carroll’

Page 2

Women’s Hockey Announces Team Awards At Annual Banquet

St. Peter, Minn. – The Gustavus women’s hockey team held its annual post-season banquet last week in the Heritage Room of the Jackson Student Center.  Senior goaltender Danielle Justice (Alexandria, Minn.) highlighted the events awards ceremony by being named the Andrea Peterson Most Valuable Player. The Most Valuable Player award is named after four-time AHCA […]

Women’s Hockey Falls 4-3 In OT To Plattsburgh, Finishes Fourth At NCAA Championship

Maddie Bergh works the puck off the boards in Saturday's NCAA third place game against Plattsburgh. Photo courtesy of http://www.facebook.com/HuthPhoto Rochester, N.Y. – After responding to a waved off goal in the first period, scoring three unanswered goals to take a 3-2 lead late in the third, and persevering through its second-straight overtime game, the […]

Gustie Skaters Schwab, Carroll, And Hjelm Garner AHCA All-America First Team Honors

(L to R) All-Americans Mollie Carroll, Lindsey Hjelm, and Allie Schwab with Head Coach Mike Carroll at Thursday night's NCAA Championship banquet. Photo courtesy of http://www.facebook.com/HuthPhoto Three Gustavus women’s hockey players were named to the 2012 CCM Division III Women’s Hockey All-America Team on Thursday night at the NCAA Championship banquet held in Rochester, New […]

Women’s Hockey Tops UW-River Falls 4-2, Advances To NCAA Semifinals

“Testing the waters” may have best described the first period of play in Saturday’s NCAA Division III Women’s Hockey first round game in St. Peter, Minn. between Gustavus Adolphus College and the University of Wisconsin-River Falls. Neither team generated many scoring opportunities until the Falcons tallied the go-ahead goal with just :24 left in the frame. The Gusties came out with a renewed sense of urgency in the second, though, and scored three unanswered goals on their way to a 4-2 victory, while punching a ticket to the NCAA semifinals for the third-straight season.

Schwab’s Hat Trick Guides Women’s Hockey Past St. Olaf 5-0, Coach Carroll Gets 200th MIAC Win

The Gustavus women’s hockey team didn’t let off the gas coming off a MIAC title-clinching sweep over Saint Mary’s last weekend, skating to a 5-0 shutout over St. Olaf on Friday night in St. Peter, Minn. Senior forward Allie Schwab tallied her third hat trick of the season and 11th multi-point game on the year. The Gusties improve to 19-1-2 overall and 14-0-1 in the MIAC, while the Oles – who are still in the playoff hunt – fall to 7-11-4 overall and 7-6-2 in league play.

Women’s Hockey Set To Take On St. Olaf This Weekend, Coach Carroll Seeking 200th MIAC Win

After securing its eighth consecutive MIAC title last weekend with a sweep over Saint Mary's, the fourth-ranked Gustavus women's hockey team will take on St. Olaf in a home/away series Friday night and Saturday afternoon. Game one will take place at Don Roberts Ice Rink in St. Peter, Minn. at 7:00 p.m. and the rematch will be at the Northfield Ice Arena at 2:00 p.m.

Draayer Nets Game-Winner In Overtime, Women’s Hockey Tops UW-Superior 1-0

The Gustavus women's hockey team defeated the University of Wisconsin-Superior 1-0 in overtime Tuesday night in St. Peter, Minn. First-year forward Carolyn Draayer knocked in the game-winner 1:32 into the extra frame, improving the Gusties to 9-0-1 overall.

Carolyn Draayer Named November Female Student-Athlete Of The Month

For her outstanding performance on the ice throughout the first month of the season, the Office of Sports Information has named Carolyn Draayer Female Student-Athlete of the Month for November.

Women’s Hockey Opens 2011-12 Campaign Friday

The Gustavus women’s hockey team kicks off its 2011-12 campaign Friday, Nov. 4, playing host to Concordia University of Mequon, Wis. The match-up will begin the long road in the Gusties’ pursuit of reaching a ninth-consecutive trip to the NCAA Championships. Five-time MIAC Coach-of-the-Year Mike Carroll, now in his 13th season at the helm, returns […]

Former Gustie Hockey Player Kirstin Peterson Named Assistant Women’s Hockey Coach

Former women’s hockey standout and 2011 Gustavus graduate Kirstin Peterson returns to campus as the assistant women’s hockey coach. Peterson, a mainstay of the Gustavus blue line the past four seasons, recently earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Health Fitness in May.