Men’s Tennis Headed to Chicago for NCAA Regional Round Posted on May 6th, 2019 by


INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Committee has selected the 43 teams that will compete in the 2019 NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Championships and Gustavus is headed to the University of Chicago on Saturday and Sunday to play in a six-team regional.

The regional teams include No. 2 Chicago, Luther, Augustana, No. 16 Gustavus, Grinnell, and St. Scholastica. The Gusties and Chicago have a first round bye, while Luther and Augustana play each other alongside Grinnell vs. St. Scholastica on Friday. Chicago will face the Augustana/Luther winner at 10 a.m. Saturday and Gustavus will face the Grinnell/St. Scholastica winner at 2 p.m.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first-, second- and third-rounds played at regional sites, Thursday-Saturday, May 9-11, or Friday-Sunday, May 10-12. Kalamazoo (Michigan) will host the team championship finals, which will be held May 21-22.

The championship provides for a 43-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 36 conference champions, which form “Pool A.” One team is selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining six teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference’s AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.


Comments are closed.