Gustavus Tennis Teams Well Represented In 2016 ITA Academic Awards

Posted on August 1st, 2016 by

TEMPE, Ariz. – The Intercollegiate Tennis Association recently announced its 2016 Academic Awards and the Gustavus men’s and women’s teams are well represented. The men’s team features five players as 2016 scholar athletes, while the women’s squad is recognized as an all-academic team with 11 scholar athletes.

More than 4,200 scholar athletes were recognized across all divisions, along with over 700 all-academic teams. The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2015 and spring 2016).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Men’s Scholar Athletes | ITA Release

Mason Bultje (So., Mankato, Minn.)

Chase Johnson (Fy., Hopkins, Minn.)

Collin Sandgren (Fy., Forsyth, Ill.)

Alex Senjem (Fy., Rochester, Minn.)

Gabriel Steinwand (So., Moorhead, Minn.)

Women’s All-Academic Team & Scholar Athletes | ITA Release

Katherine Aney (So., Rochester, Minn.)

Alison Baker (So., Rosemount, Minn.)

Sidney Dirks (Sr., St. Peter, Minn.)

Lillian Hartman (Fy., Cedar Rapids, Iowa)

Alexandra Thorsen (Fy., Eden Prairie, Minn.)

Sarah Link (Fy., Inver Grove Heights, Minn.)

Laura Martin (So., Plymouth, Minn.)

Michaela Schulz (Jr., Elk River, Minn.)

Taylor Shortly (So., Lindstrom, Minn.)

Elizabeth Stanczyk (Sr., Plymouth, Wis.)

Sheila Sullivan (Fy., St. Paul, Minn.)


Comments are closed.