Nineteen Tennis Players Named ITA Scholar Athletes

Posted on July 29th, 2015 by

SKILLMAN, N.J. – A total of 19 Gustavus Adolphus men’s and women’s tennis team members were recently named 2015 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Scholar Athletes. The women’s team was represented by Katie Aney (Fy., Rochester, Minn.), Avery Bather (Fy., Golden Valley, Minn.), Sidney Dirks (Jr., St. Peter, Minn.), Sofia Huitron (Jr., Cancun, Mexico), Laurel Krebsbach (Sr., North Oaks, Minn.), Laura Martin (Fy., Plymouth, Minn.), Maggie Nelson (So., St. Peter, Minn.), Michaela Schulz (So., Elk River, Minn.), Taylor Shortly (Fy., Lindstrom, Minn.) and Lizzy Stanczyk (Jr., Plymouth, Wis.), while the men’s team was represented by Matt Baker (Sr., Rosemount, Minn.), David Brown (Jr., Oakland, Cal.), Brad Entwistle (Sr., Sioux Falls, S.D.), Tommy Entwistle (Fy., Sioux Falls, S.D.), Sam Hjelm (Sr., North Oaks, Minn.), Nick Reiners (Sr., Cambridge, Minn.), Colin Rieke (Sr., Rochester, Minn.), Chad Stearns (Sr., Coon Rapids, Minn.) and Gabe Steinwand (Fy., Moorhead, Minn.).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status, a player must be a varsity letter winner, have a GPA of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale for the current academic year, and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters.

The Gustavus women’s tennis team was also named an ITA All-Academic Team, which is awarded to a program that has a cumulative team GPA of 3.2 or above on a 4.00 scale, and where all varsity letter winners are factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year.

ITA Men’s Award Winners | ITA Women’s Award Winners


Comments are closed.