Men’s Tennis Begins Trip To Greater Boston With Wins Over Curry And MIT

Posted on April 1st, 2014 by

The Gustavus Adolphus men’s tennis team kicked off its spring training trip to Greater Boston with a pair of wins on two different NCAA Division III campuses.  The Gusties began the afternoon with a victory over Curry College of the Commonwealth Coast Conference and then concluded the day with a win over No. 28 Massachusetts Institute of Technology of the Patriot League.  Gustavus defeated Curry 9-0 in Milton and MIT 8-1 in Cambridge.  With the wins, Gustavus improves to 19-3 overall and has now won six straight matches.

The Gustavus men’s tennis team will take part in two more matches tomorrow afternoon.  Head Coach Tommy Valentini’s club will face Tufts University at 3:00 p.m. (CST) in Medford, Mass. and Stonehill College at 3:30 p.m. (CST) in Easton, Mass.

Gustavus 9 defeated Curry 0
Singles Competition
1. Matt Bettes (GAC) def. Toma Blatchford (CURRY) 6-0, 6-1
2. Benjamin Halvorson (GAC) def. Valvel Temin (CURRY) 6-0, 6-0
3. Joakim Ekfeldt (GAC) def. Lucas Donaway (CURRY) 6-0, 6-2
4. Gavin Kulick (GAC) def. Eric Helberg (CURRY) 6-0, 6-1
5. Nicholas Reiners (GAC) def. Frank LaMotte (CURRY) 6-0, 6-0
6. Alex Smith (GAC) def. Nicholas Ironside (CURRY) 6-0, 6-0

Doubles Competition
1. Sam Hjelm/Colin Rieke (GAC) def. Toma Blatchford/Valvel Temin (CURRY) 8-0
2. Chad Stearns/Collin Shea (GAC) def. Nicholas Ironside/Eric Helberg (CURRY) 8-0
3. Cody Anderson/Duncan Anderson (GAC) def. Frank LaMotte/Corey Flax (CURRY) 8-0

Gustavus 8 defeated MIT 1
Singles Competition
1. Juan Luis Chu (GAC) def. Edwin Zhang (MIT) 6-3, 6-1
2. Mya Smith-Dennis (GAC) def. Kevin Wang (MIT) 7-6, 3-6, 7-5
3. Grant Leisner (GAC) def. Eugene Oh (MIT) 7-6 (5-0), 2-6, 6-3
4. Joe MacGibbon (GAC) def. Kenny Gea (MIT) 6-3, 6-2
5. Motasem Al-Houni (GAC) def. Curtis Wu (MIT) 6-3, 6-0
6. Brad Entwistle (GAC) def. Dennis Garcia (MIT) 6-1, 6-1

Doubles Competition
1. Mya Smith-Dennis/Motasem Al-Houni (GAC) def. Kevin Wang/Curtis Wu (MIT) 9-8 (3-0)
2. Edwin Zhang/Eugene Oh (MIT) def. Juan Luis Chu/Joe MacGibbon (GAC) 8-6
3. Marcel Gyswyt/Andres Saenz Hoyo (GAC) def. Jeffrey Bu/Kenny Gea (MIT) 8-6


Comments are closed.