Men’s Tennis Cruises Past UW-Whitewater 5-1, Advances To NCAA Regional Final

Posted on May 12th, 2012 by

Whitewater, Wis. – The Gustavus men’s tennis team earned a 5-1 victory over UW-Whitewater in the second round the NCAA Championship Tournament on Saturday afternoon at the Wangerin Tennis Courts.  With the win, Gustavus moves on to face the University of Washington-St. Louis in the regional final at 12:00 p.m. on Sunday, May 13.  Washington University defeated Coe College 5-0 earlier today to advance to the third round of the NCAA Tournament.

Gustavus took a 2-1 lead into singles play after picking up wins from its No. 1 and No. 3 doubles teams.  Senior Amrik Donkena (Rochester, Minn.) and sophomore Mya Smith-Dennis (Savage, Minn.) were able to edge Byron Balkin and Mitch Osborne 9-8 (6) in a back-and-forth match at No. 1 doubles.  Sophomore Joey MacGibbon (Apple Valley, Minn.) and freshman Brad Entwistle (Sioux Falls, S.D.) topped Erik Scanlan and Kevin Friend 8-5 at the third doubles spot for Gustavus other point.

The Gusties quickly earned a victory by decision after three wins in singles play. Juan Luis Chu (So., Lima, Peru), Joey Mac Gibbon, and Brad Entwistle all cruised to straight-set victories to earn Gustavus a trip to the third round of the national tournament.  Chu defeated Andy McGlashen 6-2, 6-4 at No. 3 singles, MacGibbon beat Cam Laktash 6-2, 6-0 at No. 5, and Entwistle topped Brady Porter 6-2, 6-0 at No. 6.

The winner of tomorrow’s Gustavus vs. Washington U. match will advance to the NCAA Quarterfinals set to take place on May 21.  The 2012 Division III Tennis Championships will take place at the Cary Tennis Park in Cary, N.C. With 29 championship courts on the grounds, the center is one of the largest public tennis facilities in the Southeast.

To follow the live action of tomorrow’s match, please follow the link below.

Live Results

NCAA Regional Website


#1 Byron Balkin (UWW) vs. Amrik Donkena (GAC) 4-6, 3-2 DNF

#2 Andrew Bayliss (UWW) vs. Mya Smith-Dennis (GAC) 4-6, 2-3 DNF

#3 Juan Luis Chu (GAC) defeated Andy McGlashen (UWW) 2-6, 4-6

#4 Mitch Osborne (UWW) vs. Tyler Johnson (GAC) 4-6, 3-4 DNF

#5 Joey MacGibbon (GAC) defeated Cam Laktash (UWW) 2-6, 0-6

#6 Bradley Entwistle (GAC) defeated Brady Porter (UWW) 2-6, 0-1


#1 Amrik Donkena and Mya Smith (GAC) defeated Byron Balkin and Mitch Osborne (UWW) 9-8 (6)

#2 Andrew Bayliss and Andy McGlashen (UWW) defeated Daniel Pomeranc and Juan Luis Chu (GAC) 9-7

#3 Joey MacGibbon and Bradley Entwistle (GAC) defeated Erik Scanlan and Kevin Friend (UWW) 8-5


Comments are closed.