Seth Anderson Garners All-District And All-Region Honors, Named To West Region All-Star Team

Posted on March 13th, 2012 by

Seth Anderson earned a spot on both the All-West Region and NABC All-West Disctrict First Teams.

The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced on Monday the 2012 NABC Division III All-District teams and coaches, recognizing the best men’s collegiate basketball student-athletes and coaches in the division, selected by member coaches of the NABC.  With that, Gustavus Adolphus senior guard Seth Anderson (Minnesota Lake, Minn.) was one of six players in the West District to earn a spot on the First Team.

Anderson, is just one of two players from the MIAC to make the West District’s First or Second team, joining Stu Neville from St. Olaf who garnered Second Team honors.

The 6′ 2” senior guard led the Gustavus men’s basketball team back to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since the 2004-05 season after putting together one of the most successful individual campaigns in Gustavus basketball history.  Anderson led the league in scoring with a 21.5 points per game average, which also ranked 21st in NCAA Division III. Amongst the players in the West selected to the first and second team, the 2011-12 MIAC MVP’s scoring average ranks second only to UW-Whitewater’s Chris Davis’ 22.2 ppg average.  Davis was selected as the Player-of-the-Year in the West, while his coach Pat Miller was voted as the Coach-of-the-Year.

Anderson joins five other players in Chris Blees of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, Chris Davis of UW-Whitewater, Shane Manor of UW-River Falls, David Mataloni of Coe, and David Michaels of Whitman on the First Team.

To go along with bringing home NABC All-District honors, Seth Anderson also achieved a spot on the 2011-12 All-West Region First Team.  Players were nominated and voted upon by various Sports Information Directors from schools across the region.  Chris Davis and Pat Miller were also voted as the Player and Coach-of-the-Year within the West Region.  Derek Jobe of Puget Sound earned Rookie-of-the-Year honors.

The West Region is broken into a First, Second, and Third Team.  Anderson joins Shane Manor of UW-River Falls, David Michaels of Whitman, Chris Davis of UW-Whitewater, and Chris Blees of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps on the five-player First Team.  St. Olaf senior Bobby Fong and Augsburg senior Andy Grezsiak-Grimm also represented the MIAC on the All-Region Third Team.

Seth Anderson is just the second Gustie basketball player to earn First Team All-West Region and All-District honors in the season.  Doug Espenson also accomplished this feat in the 2004-05 season.

The southern Minnesota product from nearby Minnesota Lake is the fifth player in Gustavus basketball history to earn a place on the NABC All-District First Team.  Seth joins the likes of Jay Coatta (1986-87), Scott Lauinger (1995-96), Luke Schmidt (1996-97, 1997-98, 1998-99), and Doug Espenson (2003-04, 2004-05).

The National Association of Basketball Coaches also announced its rosters for the 2012 Reese’s Division III College All-Star game, which will be played as part of the 2012 NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Championship.

Anderson will join David Michaels of Whitman as the two representatives from the West Region.  The senior All-Star players were nominated by coaches and selected by a panel of coaches representing each region in Division III.

The Reese’s Division III College All-Star game will be played on Saturday, March 17, at 4:30 p.m. (EDT), prior to the NCAA Division III championship game, which begins at 7:00 p.m. at the Salem Civic Center in Salem, Va.  The teams are composed of two senior players from each of the eight regions in Division III and two seniors have been selected by online voting on

NABC Release All-West Region Team

NABC Division III All-Star Game Release


Comments are closed.