Four Men’s Soccer Players Named To Academic All-Conference Team

Posted on March 3rd, 2011 by

Benjamin Ceder

The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) announced its 2010 Fall Academic All-Conference honorees on Tuesday, March 1, a list that included 26 Gustavus student-athletes.

The Gustavus Academic All-Conference honorees for men’s soccer are Benjamin Ceder (Jr., Oregon, Wis.), Ben Ikeda (Sr., Maple Grove, Minn.), Steve Lundberg (Sr., Apple Valley, Minn.) and Evan Odean (So., Duluth, Minn.).  The Gusties finished the season with an overall record of 10-5-3 and a MIAC mark of 5-2-3 in Coach Mike Middleton’s first season.

Ceder, a First Team All-Conference selection as a midfielder, started all 18 games for the Gusties and scored two goals for four points.  A biology major, Ceder maintains a 3.895 cumulative grade point average.

Odean, a starter as an outside defender, played in 16 games and scored four goals for eight points.  A biology major, Odean maintains a 3.849 cumulative grade point average.

Lundberg, a goalkeeper who started six games, compiled a record of 3-3-1 overall with a goals against average of 1.44.  Lundberg, a chemistry ACS major, maintains a 3.819 cumulative grade point average.

Ikeda, a starting midfielder and team captain, played in all 18 games and started 11, while registering one assist.  Ikeda, a Japanese Studies and economics major, maintains a 3.77 cumulative grade point average.

The 2010 Academic All-Conference honorees included 305 student-athletes from the MIAC’s 13 member institutions. To be eligible for the honor, the student must be a sophomore, junior, or senior with a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale. Athletically, football, soccer, and volleyball athletes must compete in at least half of their team’s varsity regular season contests. Golfers must be a member of their competing team at the conference championships and cross country runners must finish in the top 50 at conference or be in the top seven of their team at the MIAC Championships.

MIAC Release

Ben Ikeda

Evan Odean

Steve Lundberg


Comments are closed.