Five Members of Gustavus Men’s Tennis Team Earn All-Conference Honors

Posted on May 12th, 2010 by

The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference announced the 2010 Men’s Tennis Awards recently and five members of the conference champion Gusties were named to the All-Conference Team.  That group included Amrik Donkena, Patrick Clark, Tyler Johnson, and Daniel Pomeranc in singles and Donkena and Johnson, and Clark and Kyle Olson in doubles. Coach Tommy Valentini’s squad posted a 9-0 mark in league play and won the conference title for the 22nd consecutive year.

Donkena, a native of Rochester, Minn., posted a perfect 9-0 record in singles play against conference opponents. A sophomore transfer from the University of Washington, who was playing his first season at Gustavus, Donkena dropped only one set in his nine league matches at the #1 position.

Clark, a native of Glen Ellyn, Illinois, Glenbard South H.S., registered a 8-1 mark against MIAC opponents. The sophomore and two-time letterwinner, won 17 sets while dropping just two in his nine matches at #2 singles.

Johnson, a native of West Bend, Wis., East H.S., compiled a 9-0 record in league play at the #3 singles position. A freshman, who played a big role for the Gusties this season, won 17 sets, while losing just one in his nine matches at #3 singles.

Pomeranc, a native of Sao Paulo, Brazil, played #4 singles and posted a perfect mark of 9-0 against league opponents.  A sophomore who moved into the top six for the Gusties this season, Pomeranc won 18 sets, while dropping just two in his nine matches against MIAC opponents.

On the doubles side, Donkena teamed with Johnson at the #1 position and the duo posted a mark of 8-1 against MIAC opponents.  At the #2 position, Clark teamed with senior Kyle Olson, a senior from Shoreview, Minnesota, Mounds View H.S., to compile a record of 6-1 at the #2 position.  The Gusties posted an impressive 22-5 mark at all three doubles positions against MIAC opponents this season.

MIAC Release

Amrik Donkena

Pat Clark

Tyler Johnson

Kyle Olson

Daniel Pomeranc


Comments are closed.