Martinson Selected As A Finalist For NCAA Frozen Four Skills Challenge, Vote Now To Help Him Be Selected

Posted on February 2nd, 2010 by

Gustavus senior forward David Martinson, has been selected as one of 22 finalists (that will eventually be paired down to six) from the West Region to take part in the NCAA Frozen Four Skills Challenge. The Frozen Four Skills Challenge will be held April 9 at Ford Field in Detroit, Michigan and will highlight the “Friday Night at the Frozen Four”. The night will also include the presentation of the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, the Hockey Humanitarian Award and the announcement of the American Hockey Coaches Association All-American teams.

Six position players and two goaltenders in both genders from both the East and West Regions will be selected based on fan voting through the website.  Voting begins on Monday, February 1 and runs through noon on Monday, February 15.  Fans will only be able to vote once.

Support David Martinson! Vote for him to be selected to the West Region Team and encourage your friends to vote for him as well.  Let’s work to get Division III representation at the Frozen Four Skills Challenge!

The NCAA® Frozen Four Skills Challenge features top male and female college hockey student-athletes from across the nation in an East versus West skills competition which includes puck control relay, hardest shot, fastest skater, rapid-fire shooting, accuracy shooting and penalty shots.

David Martinson

Martinson, a 2009 First Team American Hockey Coaches Association All-America selection, currently leads Division III in goals scored with 20.  He also leads the Gusties in scoring with 20 goals and 12 assists for 32 points. Gustavus, which is currently ranked #8 in the most recent Division III poll, leads the MIAC with a record of 7-1-2 (16 points).

David Martinson Biography Page Frozen Four Skills Challenge Page

Vote for David Martinson – Click on Men’s West Link

2010 NCAA Men’s Division I Frozen Four Home Page

Martinson is one of 22 players nominated for the West Region team. The complete list of West Region candidates includes:

Drew Akins, Minnesota Duluth
Cody Chupp, Ferris State
Michael Davies, Wisconsin
Matt Fairchild, Air Force
Joel Gaurapp, UW-Stout
Zach Harrison, Minnesota State, Mankato
Steven Kampfer, Michigan
Ray Kaunisto, Northern Michigan
Ryan Lasch, St. Cloud State
Kyle Lawson, Notre Dame
Tony Lucia, Minnesota
Zac MacVoy, Lake Superior State
Chris McKelvie, Bemidji State
Chris Moran, Niagara
Kyle Page, Bowling Green
Jarod Palmer, Miami of Ohio
Mathieu Picard, Ohio State
Rhett Rakhshani, Denver
Nick Sucharski, Michigan State
Chris Summers, Michigan
Bill Sweat, Colorado College


One Comment

  1. rod strozier says:

    good luck.