Gustavus Set To Host 2009 ITA Midwest Regional Tennis Tournament

Posted on October 2nd, 2009 by

Intercollegiate Tennis Association

Intercollegiate Tennis Association

Gustavus Adolphus College is hosting the Wilson/ITA Midwest Regional Championship at the Swanson Indoor Tennis Center and the Brown Outdoor Courts. The Men’s Division III Midwest Region Championships will take place Friday, October 2 through Sunday, October 4.

The Wilson/ITA Men’s Division III Championships at Gustavus will feature 26 of the top small college tennis programs in the region. The singles and doubles champions from this weekend’s tournament advance to the Intercollegiate Tennis Association National Small College Championships which will take place at the Copeland-Cox Tennis Center in Mobile, Alabama on Oct. 15-18.

Approximately one hundred seventy-five of the top singles and doubles players in the Midwest will take part in the tournament which will begin with singles matches on Friday morning at 9 am. Mike Greenberg of Kenyon College is the #1 seed in the singles draw. Other seeds include second seeded Juan Carlos Perez Borja of Grinnell, third seeded Scott Sundstrom of Luther, and fourth seeded Sammy Ramoni of Carthage. The doubles competition will begin on Saturday. Mike Greenberg and Will Vandenberg of Kenyon are the #1 seeded doubles team. Other seeds include the second seeded team of Amrik Donkena and Tyler Johnson of Gustavus, the third seeded team of Harry Whitely and Max Busch of Luther, and the fourth seeded team of Ben Guzick and Winston Park of Carleton. The Swanson Indoor Tennis Center, located on the west edge of the Gustavus campus, will serve as headquarters for the Wilson/ITA Midwest Region Championships, with matches taking place at Swanson and the adjacent Brown Outdoor Courts, as well as the Gibbs Tennis Courts, which are situated just north of the Gustavus main entrance.

The ITA National Small College Championships began in 1986 and annually crowns men’s and women’s singles and doubles national champions in each of the ITA’s four small college divisions (NCAA Divisions II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College). The national champions from each division square off in the “Super Bowl” of Small College Tennis to determine the overall ITA National Small College Champions (who then earn berths into the ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships, a Division I event, in November).

As the governing body of collegiate tennis the ITA promotes both the athletic and academic achievements of the collegiate tennis community. The ITA, which was founded in 1956 and is based in Skillman, N.J., administers numerous regional and national championships, the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit, presented by the USTA, and the ITA Rankings for men’s and women’s tennis at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior College levels. The ITA also has a comprehensive awards program for players and coaches to honor excellence in academics, leadership and sportsmanship. The official ITA website is

Tournament Website


Comments are closed.