Women’s Swimming and Diving Team Finishes Second at MIAC Championships

Posted on February 22nd, 2009 by

The Gustavus women’s swimming and diving team had hopes of claiming their third consecutive MIAC Title, however the Gusties came up 100 points short of Carleton which claimed the championship with 721 points. Gustavus totalled 619.5 points, followed by St. Thomas at 496 and St. Olaf at 479. Carrie Gundersen sparked the Gusties on final day as she won the 1650 freestyle in a conference and meet record time of 17:09.69. She also automatically qualified for the NCAA Championships.

Anika Erickson also claimed an individual event title for the Gusties on Saturday as she won the 200 breaststroke in a meet record time of 2:21.93.

Other top finishes for Gustavus on the day included Melissa Aune placing sixth in the 1650 freestyle (18:20.93), Maggie Hansvick finishing fifth in the 200 breaststroke (2:27.81), Marnie Luke placing second (2:12.48), Steph Korba placing third, and Britta Nelson finishing sixth (2:20.50) in the 200 butterfly, and Brittani Manske placing sixth (326.55) and Darcy Reller finishing eighth (290.85).

Carrie Gundersen was named Co-MIAC Female Swimmer of the Year with Maggie Alexander of Carleton. Gundersen won the 1650 freestyle and placed second in the 500 freestyle at the meet.

The Carleton women’s swimming and diving team won the MIAC Championship in convincing fashion finishing 101.5 points ahead of second place Gustavus. The meet was held at the University of Minnesota Aquatics Center in Minneapolis. The University of St. Thomas finished third with 496 points, and St. Olaf was fourth place with 479 points. The Knight’s title was the third in program history, but the first since winning back-to-back titles in the 1999-2000 and 2000-01 seasons.

Carleton picked up two event titles on the day including Kaarin Taylor in the 200 butterfly, and Maggie Alexander in the 200 backstroke. Alexander’s time of 2:03.04 in the 200 back was a new conference and meet record.

Other event champions on the day included Annie Flanagan of Macalester, who won the 1-meter diving in new meet record time of 1:05.41, Carrie Gundersen of Gustavus, who won the 1650 freestyle in a new conference and meet record time of 17:09.69, Anika Erickson of Gustavus, who won the 200 breaststroke in a meet record time of 2:21.93, Becca Nye of St. Thomas, who won the 100 freestyle with a time of 51.87, and the St. Thomas 400 free relay team of Jena Root, Ali Krieger, Maddie Frost, Becca Nye, which won in a new meet record time of 3:30.30.

The Gusties will now wait to see which swimmers will qualify for the NCAA Championships which will take place at the University of Minnesota Aquatics Center in Minneapolis, March 18-21.

Meet awards were presented at the conclusion of the meet and the winners were:
Female Diver of the Year: Anne Flanagan, Macalester
Co-Female Swimmers of the Year: Maggie Alexander, Carleton and Carrie Gundersen, Gustavus
Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Nicole Hempler, St. Catherine
Diving Coaches of the Year: Gabe Korteum, St. Olaf/Carleton, Mark Dusbabek, St. Thomas, and Gregg Rappe, Macalester

Carleton College 721
Gustavus Adolphus College 619.5
University of St. Thomas 496
St. Olaf College 479
Macalester College 334.5
College of St. Benedict 285.5
College of St. Catherine 259
Concordia College 223.5
Hamline University 159
Saint Mary’s University 74
Augsburg College 62

Women’s Results (Top 3 All-MIAC)
1-meter Diving – 1, Annie Flanagan, Macalester, 404.80; 2, Lauren Trudeau, Concordia, 368.80; 3, Kasya Mestnik, St. Thomas, 350.30
1650 Freestyle – 1, Carrie Gunderson, Gustavus, 17;09.69, 2, Grace Fleming, Macalester, 17:57.14, 3, Layla Clauss, St. Thomas, 18:09.64
200 Backstroke – 1. Maggie Alexander, Carleton, 2:03.04; 2. Kale Zicafoose, Carleton, 2:03.95; 3. Jena Root, St. Thomas, 2:07.7
100 Freestyle – 1. Becca Nye, St. Thomas, 51.87; 2. Lauren Snyder, St. Olaf, 52.16; 3. Becky Alexander, Carleton, 52.60
200 Breaststroke – 1. Anika Erickson, Gustavus, 2:21.93; 2. Kate Alexander, Carleton, 2:25.62; 3. Karoline Hart, Macalester, 2:25.83
200 Butterfly – 1. Kaarin Taylor, Carleton, 2:11.76; 2. Marnie Luke, Gustavus, 2:12.48; 3, Steph Korba, Gustavus, 2:14.65
400 Free Relay – 1. St. Thomas (Jena Root, Ali Krieger, Maddie Frost, Becca Nye) 3:30.30; 2. Carleton, 3:31.42; 3. St. Olaf, 3:34.69

MIAC Championships Website


Comments are closed.