Women’s Tennis Set To Host Wilson/ITA Midwest Regional This Weekend

Posted on September 18th, 2008 by

Gustavus Adolphus College is hosting the Wilson/ITA Midwest Regional Championship at the Swanson Indoor Tennis Center and the Brown Outdoor Courts. The Women’s Division III Midwest Region Championships will take place Friday, September 19 through Sunday, September 21.

The Wilson/ITA Women’s Division III Championships at Gustavus will feature 20 of the top schools in the region. The singles and doubles champions from this weekend’s tournament advance to the Oct. 16-19 Intercollegiate Tennis Association National Small College Championships at the Copeland-Cox Tennis Center in Mobile, Alabama.

Seventy of the top singles and doubles players in the Midwest will take part in the tournament which will begin with singles matches on Friday morning at 9 am. Jordan Hook of Wheaton College is the #1 seed in the singles draw. Other seeds include second seeded Molly Fiala of Coe, third seeded Hannah Jensen of Coe, and fourth seeded Kalla Schaefer of UW-Whitewater. The doubles competition will begin on Friday immediately after the completion of the second round of singles play. Megan Gaard and Samantha Frank of Gustavus are the #1 seeded doubles team. Other seeds include the second seeded team of Kalla Schaefer and Amy Siemon of UW-Whitewater, the third seeded team of Molly Fiala and Andrea Schupach of Coe, and the fourth seeded team of Jordan Hook and Elizabeth Worsowicz of Wheaton. The Swanson Indoor Tennis Center, located on the west edge of the Gustavus campus, will serve as headquarters for the Wilson/ITA Midwest Region Championships, with matches taking place at Swanson and the adjacent Brown Outdoor Courts.

The ITA National Small College Championships began in 1986 and annually crowns men’s and women’s singles and doubles national champions in each of the ITA’s four small college divisions (NCAA Divisions II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College). These championships are the only national tournaments for singles and doubles at the NCAA Division II and NAIA level, and the only tournaments that combine all levels of Junior/Community Colleges (NJCAA Divisions I-III, and California Community Colleges). Participants are determined through these Wilson/ITA Regional Championships, which serve as qualifying tournaments. The national champions from each division square off in the “Super Bowl” of Small College Tennis to determine the overall ITA National Small College Champions (who then earn berths into the ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships, a Division I event, in November).

As the governing body of collegiate tennis, the ITA promotes both the athletic and academic achievements of the collegiate tennis community. The ITA, which was founded in 1956 and is based in Skillman, N.J., administers numerous regional and national championships, the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit, presented by the USTA, and the ITA Rankings for men’s and women’s tennis at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior College levels. The ITA also has a comprehensive awards program for players and coaches to honor excellence in academics, leadership and sportsmanship. The official ITA website is www.itatennis.com.

Tournament website


Comments are closed.