Andy Bryan Named Arthur Ashe Award Winner By MIAC Tennis Coaches

Posted on April 30th, 2008 by

Andy Bryan

Andy Bryan

Gustavus senior tennis player Andy Bryan has been named the 2008 winner of the Arthur Ashe Award selected by the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) men’s tennis coaches. The award is presented to the player that best combines tennis ability, with academic success, sportsmanship, and community service.

A four-year standout for the Gusties, Bryan is currently rated #2 in singles and #4 in doubles (with partner Charlie Paukert) in the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Division III rankings. He has compiled a record of 28-4 at #1 singles and 24-4 at #1 doubles this season as the Gusties have posted a record of 27-5 overall and 9-0 in the MIAC. Last fall, Bryan won ITA Midwest Regional titles in both singles and doubles and went on to finish second in singles and fourth in doubles at the ITA Small College Championships in Mobile, Alabama. Bryan has compiled a career mark of 102-25 in singles and 79-26 in doubles. He has been a key part of teams that have placed third twice and fourth once at the NCAA Championships as well as winning four MIAC Championships.

In addition to being an outstanding tennis player, Bryan has excelled in the classroom and in the community. A Biology major with a 3.89 grade point average, Bryan will attend medical school at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. He was a Second Team CoSIDA Academic All-America selection last year as well as being a three-time ITA Scholar Athlete selection and a three-time Academic All-Conference honoree. In the community, Bryan has been involved in the Study/Buddy program serving as a tutor at St. Peter High School, volunteered at Fairview Southdale Hospital, and the St. Peter Library. He has also taught tennis lessons for youth in rural communites who do not regularly have access to tennis coaching.

Bryan becomes the eighth Gustavus player to receive this prestigious award. He follows Rich Skanse (1983), Mark Kruger (1986), Ulf Gudjonsson (1988), Paul Gustafson (1992), Andy Schmidt (1997), Tommy Valentini (2001), and Daryn Collins (2002).


Comments are closed.