Isaac Sieling Named to AP Little All-America Football Team

Posted on December 22nd, 2004 by

Isaac Sieling

Isaac Sieling

The post-season awards continue to roll in for Gustavus linebacker Isaac Sieling as he was recently named to the Associated Press Little All-America First Team. The AP Little All-America squad is one of the most prestigious small college All-America teams due to the fact that it combines players from National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II, NCAA Division III and the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics. This is the 14th time that a Gustavus player has been named to the AP Little All-America team.

Sieling, a senior from Watertown, Minn., was an All-Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference selection this season. He finished the year with 157 total tackles which set a new school record for tackles in a season. His 157 stops led the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference and ranked second in all of Division III. He finished his career ranked fourth on the Gustavus all-time tackle list with 266.

Sieling recently played in the Aztec Bowl in Cancun, Mexico. He joined 41 other Division III players representing the United States against the Mexican National Team. The U.S. team defeated the Mexican team 23-3 in the game which was played on Saturday, December 11.

A standout both on the field and in the classroom, Sieling is one of only two players to be named to both the AP Little All-America First Team and the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America First Team. Sieling, who is majoring in financial economics, maintains a 3.98 grade point average.

Gustavus Players Named to AP Little All-America Team
Wendell Butcher – 1937 (First Team)
Russell Buckley – 1939 (Second Team)
Vic Pedersen – 1946 (Second Team)
Gerry Cady – 1947 (Second Team)
Red Malcolm – 1949 (Second Team)
Cal Roberts – 1950 (First Team)
Haldo Norman – 1951 (First Team)
Cal Roberts – 1952 (Second Team)
Roger Carlson – 1953 (Second Team)
Gene Nei – 1954 (First Team)
Bill Beck – 1959 (First Team)
Rick Jaeger – 1967 (First Team)
Ryan Boutwell – 1997 (Third Team)
Isaac Sieling – 2004 (First Team)

Complete AP Little All-America Team


Comments are closed.