Eleven Gusties Named to All-MIAC Football Teams

Posted on November 25th, 2003 by

The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference has announced its 2003 All-Conference football team. Five Gustavus players were named to the all-conference first team and six athletes were named to the all-conference second team.
Dan Myers (SR, Defensive End, Cottage Grove, MN), Chris Holsworth (SR, Offensive Lineman, North Branch, MN), Nick Teigland (SR, Tight End, Chanhassen, MN), Matt Diercks (SR, Cornerback, Red Wing, MN), and Tyler Vrieze (SR, Invert, Richfield, MN) were all named to the first team. It was the first time that any one of these players has earned all-conference honors.

Myers amassed 45 tackles, 18 tackles for loss, and nine sacks this season. He was tied for 29th in the NCAA for sacks per game with 0.9.

Holsworth started every game at left guard. This was his second season as a starter after starting at tackle in 2002.

Teigland caught 33 passes for 351 yards and had a team-high five touchdown receptions. He was the conference’s leading receiving tight end.

Diercks registered 38 tackles and had one interception that he returned 100 yards for a touchdown. He ranked fourth in the conference with nine pass break-ups.

Vrieze tallied 96 tackles this season, the second-highest total on the squad. He had 12 tackles for loss, five-and-a-half sacks and three fumble recoveries.

Those Gusties named to the second team were Joe Atkinson (SO, Offensive Lineman, Lake Crystal, MN), Drew Stifter (SO, Running Back, Watertown, MN), Tim Nesvig (SR, Wide Receiver, Gaylord, MN), Karl Spilseth (JR, Defensive Lineman, Willmar, MN), Spencer Cone (SR, Linebacker, Brooklyn Park, MN), and Loren Havemeier (SO, Defensive Back/Returner, Sleepy Eye, MN).

For the complete MIAC All-Conference Football Teams, click here.


Comments are closed.