Entries tagged with ‘Gustavus women’s hockey’

Vrieze Earns MIAC Women’s Hockey Elite 22 Award

The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) recognized some of its best and brightest winter sport student-athletes on Monday with the announcement of the basketball, hockey, swimming and diving, and indoor track and field Elite 22 Awards. Gustavus sophomore defender Kayla Vrieze (Eagan) claimed the award for women's hockey. 

Women’s Hockey Falls 4-1 at UW-River Falls in NCAA Opening Round

An early goal gave the Gustavus women’s hockey team the first lead of Wednesday’s NCAA opening round game, but UW-River Falls answered midway through the first to tie the score and tallied three unanswered goals in the third period to secure the win.

Women’s Hockey Faces Familiar Foe to Open NCAA Tourney

The stage is set and the opponent is a familiar foe. The No. 4-ranked Gustavus women’s hockey team opens the NCAA Championships at 7 p.m. Wednesday at No. 5-ranked UW-River Falls. The Gusties (22-3-2) and Falcons (21-5-2) will square off in the national tournament for the seventh time in program history.

Women’s Hockey Boasts Four on All-MIAC Team, Carroll Named Coach of the Year

The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference released its women’s hockey postseason awards Monday and Gustavus received a number of honors.

Women’s Hockey Opens NCAA Tourney at UW-River Falls Wednesday

The NCAA on Monday morning released its 2020 Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Championship bracket and Gustavus is selected to open the tournament 7 p.m. Wednesday at UW-River Falls. The winner will travel to face UW-Eau Claire at 2 p.m. Saturday.

Women’s Hockey Blanks Augsburg 3-0 for MIAC Playoff Title

In a back-and-forth battle to the end Saturday, No. 4 Gustavus women’s hockey secured an automatic qualifier to the NCAA Championships with a 3-0 victory over Augsburg in the MIAC playoff championship.

Women’s Hockey Hosts Augsburg Saturday for MIAC Playoff Championship

No. 4 Gustavus women’s hockey is set to host the MIAC playoff championship game at 2 p.m. Saturday against No. 10 Augsburg. The Gusties (21-3-2) advanced to the title game with a 4-1 win over Saint Mary’s last Saturday while the Auggies (21-5-0) upset Hamline 2-1 on overtime.

Women’s Hockey Advances to MIAC Title Game, Defeats Saint Mary’s 4-1

No. 4 Gustavus women’s hockey will play for the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference playoff championship in a week after securing a 4-1 victory over Saint Mary’s on Saturday afternoon at Don Roberts Ice Rink. Hailey Holland highlighted the semifinal win with her second hat trick of the season.

Women’s Hockey Hosts Saint Mary’s Saturday in MIAC Semifinals

No. 4 Gustavus women’s hockey is set to host Saint Mary’s at 2 p.m. Saturday for a MIAC semifinal at Don Roberts Ice Rink. The Gusties, who earned the No. 1 seed in playoffs with a 15-1-2 conference record, enter the game 20-3-2 overall, while the No. 5 seed Cardinals are 10-13-3 overall.

Women’s Hockey Claims 16th MIAC Championship

For the 16th time in program history, the Gustavus women’s hockey team is the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference champion. The No. 4-ranked Gusties on Saturday afternoon treated the home crowd at Don Roberts Ice Rink to a 3-0 shutout victory over Bethel to finish the regular season 15-1-2 in the MIAC and 20-3-2 overall.