Entries tagged with ‘conference’

Five Women’s Hockey Players Named All-MIAC; Andrea Peterson Named Player of the Year

Five Gustavus Adolphus women's hockey players have been named All-Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference by a vote of the league's coaches. Seniors Kelly Crandall and Andrea Peterson were recognized, as were juniors Margaret Dorer and Molly Doyle and sophomore Jenny Pusch. Peterson was also named MIAC Player of the Year for the fourth consecutive season.

Monahan, Vadnais Named All-MIAC in Women’s Basketball; Vadnais Named League MVP

Gustavus Adolphus women's basketball players Jess Vadnais and Bri Monahan have been named All-Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference by a vote of the league's coaches with Vadnais being named the league's Player of the Year. Erin Boese was named to the All-MIAC Defensive Team. Ashley Raymo was Gustavus' representative on the All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team.

Men’s Basketball Picks Up 79-70 Win at Macalester

The Gustavus Adolphus men's basketball team opened the second half of the MIAC schedule with a 79-70 win over Macalester Saturday afternoon in St. Peter. Andrew Doble led the Gusties with 21 points followed by 20 from Trevor Wittwer. Gustavus (9-7, 7-4 MIAC) will face Augsburg Monday night in Minneapolis.

Six Gustavus Football Players Receive All-MIAC Honors

Gustavus Adolphus College linebackers Adam Miron and Jared Sieling have been named to the All-MIAC first team, as voted on by the league's coaches. In addition, defensive lineman Nick David, defensive back Kevin Hegland, quarterback/kicker Jordan Stolp and offensive lineman Jared Thelemann were each honored on the second team. Defensive back Brian Evans was named to the MIAC Sportsmanship Team.

Larson, Quealy Named All-MIAC in Women’s Soccer; Three Others Named Honorable Mention

A pair of Gustavus Adolphus women's soccer players have been named to the All-Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference women's soccer team for the 2006 season. Forward Amy Larson and defender Shannon Quealy, both seniors, were named to the first team, while senior midfielder Alison Rethwisch, junior forward Jenna Iaizzo and first-year defender Rachel Iblings received honorable mention.