

## D3football.com 2014 All-West Region Team

Brinkmeier, Zilbar highlight 10th annual D3football.com All-Region team

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

MINNEAPOLIS – Wartburg tackle Chris Brinkmeier and UW-Platteville linebacker Jacob Zilbar lead the D3football.com 2014 All-West Region team. Zilbar was named West Region Defensive Player of the Year, while Brinkmeier was named West Region Offensive Player of the Year.

Wartburg coach Rick Willis, whose Knights reached the national quarterfinals for the second time in program history before falling to UW-Whitewater, is the D3football.com 2014 West Region Coach of the Year.

Brinkmeier, a senior, did not allow a sack from his tackle position in the regular season in helping pave the way for a Wartburg offense that ran for 216.7 yards per game. Coaches from across multiple conferences in the West Region identified Brinkmeier as the best lineman they'd faced all season.

He is the first offensive lineman to garner regional offensive player of the year honors in any region in the 10-year history of the D3football.com All-Region team.

Zilbar led the UW-Platteville defense from his linebacker spot and was named the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference defensive player of the year. He had 78 total tackles, four interceptions and five pass breakups for the 7-3 Pioneers.

The teams, selected in balloting by West Region sports information directors and D3football.com staff, were chosen from 228 nominations by Division III member schools. A total of 77 players were chosen.

For more information please contact D3football.com Executive Editor Pat Coleman at (612) 237-4855 or by e-mail at pat.coleman@d3sports.com.

Year-by-year award highlights									
Year	Offensive POY	Defensive POY	Coach of the Year						
2005	Brett Elliott, QB, Linfield	Damien Dumonceaux, DE, St. John's	Bob Berezowitz, UW-Whitewater						
2006	Justin Beaver, RB, UW-Whitewater	Ryan Kleppe, DT, UW-Whitewater	Bob Berezowitz, UW-Whitewater						
2007	Justin Beaver, RB, UW-Whitewater	Ryan Ogrizovich, DT, UW-Whitewater	Steve Johnson, Bethel						
2008	Royce Winford, WR, Augsburg	Brad Vickroy, DT, UW-Stevens Point	Mark Speckman, Willamette						
2009	Levell Coppage, RB, UW-Whitewater	Marcus Ball, DE, UW-Stout	Joe Smith, Linfield						
2010	Levell Coppage, RB, UW-Whitewater	Eric Hedin, DE, Linfield	Steve Johnson, Bethel						
2011	Levell Coppage, RB, UW-Whitewater	Tony Danna, LB, St. Thomas	Chris Sulages, Lewis and Clark						
	Michael Zweifel, WR, Dubuque								
2012	Nate Wara, QB, UW-Oshkosh	Dom Forrest, LB, Linfield	Pat Cerroni, UW-Oshkosh						
2013	John Kelly, QB, UW-Platteville	Dom Forrest, LB, Linfield	Lance Leipold, UW-Whitewater						
2014	Chris Brinkmeier, T. Wartburg	Jacob Zilbar, LB, UW-Platteville	Rick Willis, Wartburg						

## The teams follow:



## D3football.com 2014 All-West Region Team

Offensive Player of the Year: Chris Brinkmeier, T, Wartburg Defensive Player of the Year: Jacob Zilbar, LB, UW-Platteville Coach of the Year: Rick Willis, Wartburg

For more information about Division III football, log on to www.d3football.com.

First Team Offense	First Team Defense				
Pos.Player School	Yr. Hometown	Pos.Player	School	Yr.	Hometown
QB Matt Behrendt UW-Whitewater	Sr. Westchester, III.	DE Alex Hoff	Linfield	Jr.	Lebanon, Ore.
RB Sam Sura St. John's	Jr. South St. Paul, Minn.	DT Zach Franz	UW-Whitewater	Jr.	DeForest, Wis.
RB Dylan Jones Willamette	Sr. Santa Maria, Calif.	DT Matt Schmitz	Coe	Sr	Jesup, Iowa
WR Jake Kumerow UW-Whitewater	Sr. Bartlett, III.	DE Aaron Karlen	UW-Stevens Point		Edgar, Wis.
WR Matt Boyce Gustavus Adolphus	Jr. Excelsior, Minn.	LB Jacob Zilbar	UW-Platteville		Tampa, Fla.
TE Joe Sommers UW-Oshkosh	Jr. Hortonville, Wis.	LB Jack Nelson	Willamette		Portland, Ore.
T Chris Brinkmeier Wartburg	Sr. Orangeville, III.	LB Justin Dischler	UW-Whitewater		Milwaukee, Wis.
3	<i>3</i> ,				
G Conner Peters UW-Whitewater	Jr. Springfield, III.	CB Brady Grayvold	UW-Whitewater		Norway, Mich.
C T.J. Woodrow St. Thomas	Sr. Eden Prairie, Minn.	S Zach Vallafskey	UW-Stevens Point		
G Jason Eddy UW-Platteville	Sr. Aurora, III.	S Jacob Edleman	Central		Mechanicsville, lowa
T Bubba Friedlund Bethel	Sr. Farmington, Minn.	CB Spencer Capitani	Wartburg	Sr.	Northwood, Iowa
K Mike Theismann St. Scholastica	Sr. St. Cloud, Minn.	P Nate Ray	UW-Oshkosh	Sr.	Verona, Wis.
RET Brandon Marquardt Bethel	Sr. Champlin, Minn.				
Second Team Offense		Second Team Defense			
QB Logan Schrader Wartburg	Jr. Killdeer, III.	DE Andrew Robinson	UW-Platteville		Arcadia, Wis.
RB Josh Osborn Central	Sr. Burlington, Iowa	DT Jeremy Girod	Linfield	Sr.	Vancouver, Wash.
RB Andy Puccini UW-Platteville	Sr. Bartlett, III.	DT Sam Pokornowski	St. Thomas	Sr.	Cokato, Minn.
WR Joey Sonnenfeld Augsburg	Jr. Maple Grove, Minn.	DE James Dambacher	Illinois College	Sr.	Auburn, III.
WR Charlie Poppen Linfield	Sr. Oregon City, Ore.	LB Carter Hanson	St. John's	So.	Blue Earth, Minn.
TE Charlie Dowdle St. Thomas	Jr. Glenview, III.	LB Luke Bakkum	UW-Stout	Sr.	Oconomowoc, Wis.
T Steven Schultz Linfield	Sr. Tacoma, Wash.	LB David Ternes	Grinnell	Sr.	Oakley, Calif.
G Ross Carlson St. John's	Sr. Farwell, Minn.	CB Josh Treimer	Bethel	Sr.	Burnsville, Minn.
C Jeremy Patrick Linfield	Sr. Portland, Ore.	S Pat Clark	Lake Forest	Jr.	Naperville, III.
G Eric Pitassi Linfield	Jr. West Linn, Ore.	S Jordan Giza	Linfield	Sr.	Salem, Ore.
T Alex Jarosz St. John's	Sr. White Bear Lake, Minn.	CB Marcus McLin	UW-Whitewater	Sr.	Delavan, Wis.
K Kevin Sheldon Central	Sr. West Des Moines, Iowa	P Kevin Krueger	St. Norbert	Sr.	Seminole, Fla.
RET Evan Clark St. John's	So. Phoenix, Ariz.	ST Nick Nasse	Claremont-M-S	Sr.	Los Angeles, Calif.
Third Team Offense		Third Team Defense			
QB Ayrton Scott Augsburg	Jr. Minneapolis, Minn.	DE Nate Adams	Concordia-M'head	Sr.	Litchfield, Minn.
QB Mitch Hendricks Gustavus Adolphus	Jr. Bemidji, Minn.	DT Jamie Rohrig	UW-Stout	Sr.	Owatonna, Minn.
RB Austin Duncan Hamline	Jr. New Orleans, La.	DT Dallas Gosselin	Occidental	Sr.	Bothel, Wash.
RB Brandon Domeyer Wartburg	Jr. Manchester, Iowa	DE Chris DeVet	Augsburg	Sr.	Shoreview, Minn.
WR Gunner Gilland Buena Vista	Sr. Shelby, Iowa	LB Cody Hickman	Minnesota-Morris	Sr.	Morris, Minn.
WR Gabriel Boyce Gustavus Adolphus	Jr. Excelsior, Minn.	LB Landon Mathis	Bethel	Jr.	Anoka, Minn.
TE Shane Finnegan St. Scholastica	So. Woodbury, Minn.	LB Will Janssen	Wartburg	Jr.	Mediapolis, Iowa
T Ryan Ramczyk UW-Stevens Point	So. Stevens Point, Wis.	CB Jacob Wilson	Monmouth	Sr.	Mount Sterling, III.
G Dillon Brown Bethel	Jr. Kirkland, Wash.	S David Morgan	Bethel	Sr.	Rosemount, Minn.
C Bryan Lurquin UW-Platteville	Sr. Chicago, III.	S Joe Lorenz	St. Norbert	Sr.	Elk Mound, Wis.
G Tevon	<u>-</u>	CB Deion Jones	<b>UW-Stevens Point</b>	So.	Racine, Wis.
Stephens-Brown Pacific Lutheran	Sr. Tacoma, Wash.				
T Sam Cluck Cornell	Sr. Lehigh Acres, Fla.	P Kevin McLean	Linfield	So.	Beaverton, Ore.
K Alexi Johnson St. John's	So. Shakopee, Minn.				
RET Marcus McLin UW-Whitewater	Sr. Delavan, Wis.				