The Team Championship Field Is Set, Quarterfinal Matches Take Place On May 13

Posted on May 7th, 2008 by

The Swanson Tennis Center and Brown Outdoor Courts ComplexThe first, second, and third round matches of the 2008 NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Tournament are complete and eight teams are headed to Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota to determine the 2008 National Champion. The institutions who advanced to the NCAA Quarterfinals are Bowdoin College (Brunswick, Maine), Denison University (Granville, Ohio), Emory University (Atlanta, Georgia), host Gustavus Adolphus College, University of Mary Washington (Fredericksburg, Virginia), Pomona-Pitzer Colleges (Pomona California), Washington and Lee University (Lexington, Virginia), and Williams College (Williamstown, Massachusetts). Washington and Lee, the defending national champion, is making its 15th consecutive quarterfinal appearance, while Bowdoin is making its first ever appearance in the final eight.

Courts 1 and 2 at the Brown Outdoor Courts With The Swanson Center in the BackgroundThe matches, which will be played at the Brown Outdoor Tennis Complex on the Gustavus Adolphus College campus, are set to begin on Tuesday, May 13 at 9:00 am Central Daylight Time (CDT).

Welcome to Gustavus Video

The schedule for the matches is as follows:

9:00 am Bowdoin (14-7) vs Pomona-Pitzer (16-7)
9:00 am Williams (18-3) vs. Mary Washington (22-3)

2:00 pm Emory (17-10) vs. Denison (19-3)
2:00 pm Washington and Lee (26-0) vs. Gustavus Adolphus (24-8)

The 2008 Washington and Lee University Squad Will Look To Defend Their National TitleThe winners of Tuesday’s 9:00 am quarterfinal matches will play on Wednesday, May 14 at 9:00 am, while the winners of the 2:00 pm matches will play at 2:00 pm. The team tournament will conclude on Thursday, May 15 with the third place match taking place at 9:00 am and the championship match beginning at 1:00 pm.

The individual singles and doubles tournaments will begin on Friday, May 16 with the first round of singles play starting at 9:00 am and the first round of doubles play beginning at 3:00 pm. The individual tournaments will continue on Saturday, May 17 with the singles quarterfinals at 9:00 am and the semifinals at 12:00 pm, and the doubles quarterfinals at 3:00 pm. Tournament play is scheduled to conclude on Sunday, May 18 with the singles final beginning at 12:00 pm, followed by the doubles semifinals at 2:00 pm and the final at 4:00 pm.


One Comment

  1. Marsha Davis says:

    Go Bowdoin