Baseball to Participate in RussMatt Greater Phoenix Invitational March 22-25

Posted on March 20th, 2007 by

The Gustavus Adolphus College baseball team will take part in the 2007 RussMatt Greater Phoenix Invitational as part of their annual Spring Trip. The Gusties are scheduled to play eight games in four days while in Arizona, facing the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, the University of Southern Maine, Thomas College (Maine) and Middlebury College (Vt.) in doubleheaders. All four doubleheaders are scheduled to be played on Field 4 of the Snedigar Complex in Chandler, Ariz.

Gustavus (1-2 overall) kicks off tournament play Thursday, March 22 by facing UW-Whitewater in a doubleheader at 1 p.m. Mountain Standard Time (3 p.m. Central Daylight Time). The Gusties and Warhawks are meeting in Arizona for the second consecutive season. UW-Whitewater holds a 2-1 advantage in the all-time series, but Gustavus picked up an 8-5 victory last season.

At noon MST (2 p.m. CDT) Friday, March 23, the Gusties will face the Huskies from the University of Southern Maine in a doubleheader. Gustavus is 1-5 all-time against Southern Maine, most recently splitting a doubleheader to open the 2005 season.

On Satuday, March 24, Gustavus will meet Thomas College of Waterville, Maine, in a 1 p.m. MST (3 p.m. CDT) doubleheader. The Gusties are 5-1 all-time against the Terriers with the teams splitting a doubleheader in their most recent meeting in 2005.

Coach Mike Carroll’s squad will wrap up the trip with a doubleheader against Middlebury at 11 a.m. MST (1 p.m. CDT) Sunday, March 25. This will be the first meeting between the Gusties and the Panthers on the baseball diamond.

Gustavus will open up Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference play Saturday, March 31 with a 1 p.m. doubleheader at the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul.

RussMatt Greater Phoenix Invitational Web site

 

Comments are closed.